September 22, 2018, 12:49:47 PM

Author Topic: Clarification on the failed to receive an order optional rule.  (Read 678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dark Omen

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
    • Loc: UK - Midlands
Dear community.

This came up in the tournament yesterday.

Warmaster revolution optional rule says that if a unit fails to receive its first order in the command phase it can make a half pace move.

Originally I thought this meant that a character must try to issue an order, and fail, for the unit to get the half pace move.
However the wording of the rules could also mean that any unit which was not ordered gets a half pace move as well, as they have "failed to receive an order". This might happen if the general fails an order roll and some troops are left without being ordered at all in the command phase.

So which interpretation is correct?

1) Does a character actually have to try and order a unit and fail the order roll for the unit to get a half pace move.

2) Or can any unit that did not receive any orders get a half pace move, whether a character tried to order them or not?

Many thanks for clarification.

Offline Clawlessdragon

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 53
    • Loc: Kent, England
Re: Clarification on the failed to receive an order optional rule.
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 01:04:37 PM »
I've read, and played it that the order has to be given for it to count.
If taken the other way, it will be open to abuse especially for hoard armies. The general can keep moving a single unit (up to a max of 3 moves) to failure, safe in the knowledge the rest of the army can shamble forward (change formation) .. there will be little risk, and less decision making.

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 459
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Clarification on the failed to receive an order optional rule.
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 07:32:40 PM »
 Though I think it's quite clear it's the option 1) it's good to see there might be a doubt. Will look at that. Thanx!
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Toothpick

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • Loc: Maidstone
Re: Clarification on the failed to receive an order optional rule.
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 09:50:47 PM »
Hi,
A possible rewording of the first sentence (as below) may make this crystal clear.

A unit or brigade that is in receipt of a failed command test as its first ordered command in the command phase can  move at half pace without changing formation or charging.

Regards,
Shane