October 17, 2019, 03:21:57 PM

Author Topic: Advance into support?  (Read 1233 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Toothpick

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • Loc: Maidstone
Advance into support?
« on: February 22, 2017, 02:30:33 PM »
Hi,
Can a unit advance into support if they destroy the enemy unit they were fighting, and there are no eligible enemy units to engage?

Thanks,
Shane

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Advance into support?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 04:49:08 PM »
No, you can make supporting charge only in command phase.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Advance into support?
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2017, 05:15:24 PM »
Looks like my statement and probably even the wording of the rule needs some revision as pointed out on FB. There are faq on this issue in WMA I missed.

WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Aquahog

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 401
Re: Advance into support?
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2017, 08:42:06 PM »
Ok, thanks for pointing that out.

Offline Clawlessdragon

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • Loc: Kent, England
Re: Advance into support?
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2017, 11:18:57 AM »
Thanks for the clarifications Aldhick, as always. Good spot on the support advance clarification, although the scenario outlined by Toothpick is slightly different and maybe worth clarification - I've drawn the example to make it clearer.
If unit A, destroys unit 1 (in a round or two)... Unit A can now Advance into fresh combat. Q: Can unit A "Advance" into the combat in front of it, between unit B and unit 2, as this would allow them to support unit B?
I would say not as unit A can not "see" the enemy unit. Therefore unit A's options are fallback or remain.

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Advance into support?
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2017, 05:34:54 PM »
I see. The answer is no.Unit can make supporting charge only when it was supporting the front charging unit before doing so.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs