August 25, 2019, 04:56:45 AM

Author Topic: Shooting overhead  (Read 1295 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dark Omen

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • Loc: UK - Midlands
Shooting overhead
« on: January 21, 2017, 01:54:31 PM »
Dear community,

One issue that has arisen recently when playing against new opponents is the "shooting overhead rule".

This rule is designed to allow artillery to shoot over intervening stands of troops when the artillery is either placed on a hill or shooting at a target on a hill.

The converse of the this rule suggests to me that if you are not Artillery, you CANNOT shoot overhead in any circumstances, as intervening troops will block line of sight.
Reading the rules this seems to apply even if the shooter or target is on higher ground than the enemy, as I cannot see anywhere that non artillery units get to use the shooting overhead rule.

In other words, non artillery shooters must have a clear line of sight to the target that does not cross intervening troops regardless of who is on a hill or not.

This is the way I have always played it, but am I correct?

Thoughts and advice welcome.


Offline Stormwind

  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 2626
  • Ben Sibbald | Newcastle, UK
Re: Shooting overhead
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2017, 12:59:08 AM »
p 67 in the amended rulebook printout I have: "Whilst this is perfectly true and satisfactory for the majority of troops, when it comes to artillery fire it is felt that an exception is called for."

So yeah looks like only artillery gets to shoot over.
My Personal & Modelling Blog >>http://theancienttrack.blogspot.co.uk/

Offline honestmistake

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • Tentacles make everything better!
Re: Shooting overhead
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2017, 09:27:00 AM »
Yes. Only artillery gets to fire over troops and even then only if it (or the target) is on higher ground. We have trialed allowing missile troops to 'blind' fire with a -1 penalty to hit and it doesn't seem to massively skew the balance but it's absolutely a house rule and not official