November 16, 2018, 12:59:51 PM

Author Topic: Unresolved Combats  (Read 2247 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cjbennett22

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • Loc: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Re: Unresolved Combats
« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2017, 12:57:21 AM »
So in affect, we are eliminating the possibilities of two forces being able to come together after their first combats?  Ill need to play another couple of games and try again.

 I did find that the markers work well for bookmarking unresolved combats. I personally like it but open for suggestions and i can repost if people want me too.

Thank you aldhick!

Offline cjbennett22

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • Loc: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Re: Unresolved Combats
« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2017, 06:00:01 PM »
ok, so what if......

the knights had only charged originally, up the hill into the Dwarf Warriors.  Then the Chaos Warriors and the Spawn charge against the slayers, roll them in 2 rounds....can they then charge the flank of the Dwarf Warriors to help the Knights?

Because the new limitation I am seeing is all "Advances" or second charges, are completed immediately to the 2 round maximum.

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 470
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Unresolved Combats
« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2017, 11:00:39 PM »
yes, they can. If you advance into combat that hasn't been resolved yet, the advancing unit joins in and the combat is resolved next.

An advance might initiate a new combat engagement, it
might bring the advancing unit into an existing
unfought engagement, or it might bring the advancing
unit into an engagement that has been fought but
which remains unresolved.
If advancing into an existing unfought engagement, the
advancing unit fights as part of the engagement that
turn. This means the unit fights in two separate
engagements during the same Combat phase and could,
potentially, fight up to four rounds of combat during
the turn.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2017, 11:08:38 PM by Aldhick »
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline cjbennett22

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • Loc: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Re: Unresolved Combats
« Reply #18 on: February 10, 2017, 01:29:38 AM »
I re-read the rules today on my lunch break, figured out a bunch of stuff  :)

Its always amazing to me how much I seem to miss the first time through any rulebook.  What I was really missing was the fact that when a unit "advances" you must keep going with that unit until complete.  That is another rule that I originally learned wrong 15+ years ago and never relearned!  :/

Offline toco

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • Loc: Belgium
    • Custom Epic 40K, Necromunda, ...
Re: Unresolved Combats
« Reply #19 on: February 10, 2017, 02:48:32 PM »
Great read.

I missed the rule that there are only 2 rounds of combat. So I kept fighting until one of both units was destroyed...

Thanks for pointing that out.
http://www.tocoking.be/blog

Miniatures: converting, scenery, custom rules, ...

Offline Hammerskelp

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Loc: West Lothian, Scotland
Re: Unresolved Combats
« Reply #20 on: February 10, 2017, 04:17:49 PM »
I think it will take a little while to pick up on some of the small changes that don't immediately jump out at you.
For example: All advances being 20cm now. (Instead of the 20cm/10cm depending on what round your opponent was wiped.)