April 19, 2019, 11:20:57 AM

Author Topic: [WMR] supporting charges query  (Read 1426 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline empireaddict

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 483
    • Loc: UK East Midlands
[WMR] supporting charges query
« on: December 30, 2016, 05:54:31 PM »
Page 44.  'During the Command phase, a unit is allowed to make a supporting charge if it is positioned behind another so that at least one stand could theoretically support in combat.'

Please can I check the 'positioned behind' bit?  My interpretation of this rule is that this means only infantry units in line can have supporting chargers?  Is that correct?

Alternatively, if a unit in column can have a supporting charge from another unit in column next to it, then it only needs a simple change: 'During the Command phase, a unit is allowed to make a supporting charge if it is positioned behind another so that at least one stand could theoretically support in combat.'

That means that the front stand of the unit in column is supporting sideways and can therefore make a supporting charge.

I would be in favour of units in column being able to get help from supporting chargers next to them.
“I cannot believe you when you say [your friend] has identical plastic boxes for his armies, all color coded [...] Don’t you think that is being little obsessive?”
“Yes, but not enough to scare us wargamers.”
© Larry Leadhead (2004)

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2017, 07:37:25 AM »
Good point EA. However it's the original WMA wording and I'd be reluctant to touch it unless widely discussed and agreed on.

I guess that the "positioned behind" was put there with an intention. I'd say that your first interpretaiton is right, however it does not necessarily have to be a line. It can be obviously two units in columns one behind the other, but this won't happen very often I recon...
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2017, 12:10:41 PM »
I also suppose that this "positioned behind" might have been mentioned to demotivate people to use the "one column next to other" brigade formation for purpose of that cheesy 18cm charge as the best infantry tactic as it is under  WM rules.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2017, 12:12:36 PM by Aldhick »
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Grimnir

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 75
    • Loc: Czech Republic - Brno
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2017, 09:49:19 AM »
I also suppose that this "positioned behind" might have been mentioned to demotivate people to use the "one column next to other" brigade formation for purpose of that cheesy 18cm charge as the best infantry tactic as it is under  WM rules.
I also see this as a most probable thing.
With the support being part of combat now (and being able to pursue and support pursue) it is not so imbalanced. But still, with the "18cm" column charge, you can still get support in the second round of combat even if you loose some stands.

The same applies with the support pursuit - if a unit is supporting by standing next to a fighting stand, it is a part of combat and can pursue (if it sees an enemy) but cannot support pursue (because of the "move forward" bit.)
That backs up the intentions being behind it.
[WM] Bretonnian Earl

Offline empireaddict

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 483
    • Loc: UK East Midlands
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2017, 05:20:08 PM »
OK.  That makes sense.  Thank you.  Glad I checked.
“I cannot believe you when you say [your friend] has identical plastic boxes for his armies, all color coded [...] Don’t you think that is being little obsessive?”
“Yes, but not enough to scare us wargamers.”
© Larry Leadhead (2004)

Offline empireaddict

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 483
    • Loc: UK East Midlands
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2019, 10:59:23 AM »
@Aldhick, playing with Paul Winter and others at the weekend and he told me that units in column next to a charging unit can now make a supporting charge.  Is that correct, please? I have no objection (see previous posts in this thread), but it is a fairly big change so as a tournament organiser I would want to alert players to it. Many thanks.
“I cannot believe you when you say [your friend] has identical plastic boxes for his armies, all color coded [...] Don’t you think that is being little obsessive?”
“Yes, but not enough to scare us wargamers.”
© Larry Leadhead (2004)

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2019, 04:57:38 PM »
@Aldhick, playing with Paul Winter and others at the weekend and he told me that units in column next to a charging unit can now make a supporting charge.  Is that correct, please? I have no objection (see previous posts in this thread), but it is a fairly big change so as a tournament organiser I would want to alert players to it. Many thanks.

yep, that's correct.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline empireaddict

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 483
    • Loc: UK East Midlands
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2019, 05:34:26 PM »
@aldhick, Thank you for the clarification.
“I cannot believe you when you say [your friend] has identical plastic boxes for his armies, all color coded [...] Don’t you think that is being little obsessive?”
“Yes, but not enough to scare us wargamers.”
© Larry Leadhead (2004)

Offline Hammerskelp

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Loc: West Lothian, Scotland
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2019, 08:56:35 AM »
Wow.
That's a big change to the rules.
When did that happen?
I just checked the current download ver 1.1 and page 44 hasn't changed.
- - - - -
Are there any other secret changes that have taken place since 1.1 came out?
(BTW: A club near me just had 20 copies of the rules printed. Ver 1.1)

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2019, 05:07:53 PM »
There's nothing secret about it. The rules are exactly the same as in WMA.. no changes. You just might have missed it has been possible all the time.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Hammerskelp

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Loc: West Lothian, Scotland
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2019, 10:51:05 PM »
I have Dwarf, Lizardmen and Orc armies. With a combined total of two mounted units.  :D
Safe to say, I like infantry armies.

The change is very much to my advantage.  No complaint from me.  :)

"behind another"  isn't really open to any interpretation.   
If the rule has changed to remove the requirement to be behind. I'm happy with that.

I'm just curious if I may have "missed" any other rules, in Warmaster Revolution, that are different from the text of the rules.


As long as I know that's the rule.


Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2019, 07:21:08 AM »
Sorry guys, I have misinterpreted the fourth paragrap of the rule...

It is not possible and Paul Winter is a cheater :-D

Sorry for the confusion.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Hammerskelp

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Loc: West Lothian, Scotland
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2019, 09:06:21 AM »
Thanks Aldhick.

You don't have to say sorry here. :)
Anyone involved with the effort of bringing us Warmaster Revolution gets a lot free passes. :)

One of the best things about Warmaster is when you are asked to look at a situation on a table, 99% of the time you can answer with "What do the rules 'actually' say?"

PS: Paul's excellent work in bringing us the podcast gets him some free passes too! (Although he'd probably take 'sneaky-rat' as a compliment. :)

Offline empireaddict

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 483
    • Loc: UK East Midlands
Re: [WMR] supporting charges query
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2019, 07:02:08 PM »
OK, not a problem. Many thanks for the clarification. I've let Paul know.
“I cannot believe you when you say [your friend] has identical plastic boxes for his armies, all color coded [...] Don’t you think that is being little obsessive?”
“Yes, but not enough to scare us wargamers.”
© Larry Leadhead (2004)