December 11, 2019, 11:10:41 AM

Author Topic: Hired guns and bottle tests and loot question  (Read 2379 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mind robber

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Hired guns and bottle tests and loot question
« on: September 30, 2009, 06:56:17 PM »
Another quick question (one i think i nether knew if i was playing it right).

1.  Can a gang use a Hired Gun's leadership for a bottle test if it is higher then the leader (or other ganger if leader is 'unavailiable'?)

and 2 more....

2.  In scenario's such as 'Loot & Pillage' that use Loot counters, if a ganger is carrying loot and the gang bottles out (voluntarily) do they keep the loot or drop it (allowing the other gang to have them in the scavengers scenario)?

3.  Is credits earned from scenario's like 'loot & pillage' and the hit added to the gangs income (in the case of house gangs) or to their profit?
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 08:15:45 PM by mind robber »

Offline Ravendas

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
Re: Hired guns and bottle tests and loot question
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 08:45:39 PM »
1.  Can a gang use a Hired Gun's leadership for a bottle test if it is higher then the leader (or other ganger if leader is 'unavailiable'?)

The leader's leadership is always used as long as he is on the board and not down. Even if a ganger passes him up (but doesn't win a leadership challenge), the leader's is still used. If he does go down or out, then the next highest, or in this case the higher leadership, is used. I've seen this situation come up in campaigns, so it does happen.

As for the Hired Gun part of it, this is from the FAQ posted elsewhere on these forums
Quote
Q: Can a hired gun be considered the highest leadership if the leader is down or out-of-action?
A: No. Although the Bottle Test Rules on ORB page 26 state ‘If the gang’s leader is out of action or is down, then the
player may not use his leadership to take the test. Instead, use the highest Leadership characteristic amongst those
of the remaining fighters who are neither down nor out of action.’ The hired guns section on page 100 of the ORB
states ‘Hired Guns don’t belong to the gang they fight with and they don’t usually help the gang except by fighting.
This means that Hired Guns don’t count as members of the gang for purposes of collecting income or for deducting
cost of living expenses.’ This all means that they are not part of the gang, period. You cannot use their leadership as
they are not part of the gang.

So no, their leadership cannot be used.

Quote
2.  In scenario's such as 'Loot & Pillage' that use Loot counters, if a ganger is carrying loot and the gang bottles out (voluntarily) do they keep the loot or drop it (allowing the other gang to have them in the scavengers scenario)?
P.112, ORB:
If a gang fails a Bottle roll, or one player volunteers
to bottle out, the game ends immediately. The gang
that bottles out loses and the winner is left in
possession of the battlefield.

Since the game ends immediately, you check and see who has loot counters. So yes, the losing team keeps any counters they currently possess. If there are any loot counters left on the table top, they are awarded to the winners as they now 'control' the area.

Quote
3.  Is credits earned from scenario's like 'loot & pillage' and the hit added to the gangs income (in the case of house gangs) or to their profit?
P.112, ORB:
LOOT
After the game is over each gang is allowed to cash in
its loot. The income generated is added to the
income from the gang’s territory. Each Loot counter
is worth 1D6 x 5 credits.

It is added to what you got from your territories and passed through the gang size filter. These missions aren't terribly profitable for house gangs, but pretty nice for outlaws.

Hope this was helpful, if you have any other questions, or questions to these answers, feel free to post!