September 15, 2019, 11:25:22 PM

Author Topic: Elephant rules question  (Read 1909 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Edmund2011

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 312
    • Loc: Madrid, Spain
Elephant rules question
« on: July 13, 2015, 09:57:27 PM »
Hello!

What happens when an elephant retreats from missile fire / losing a combat?

Rules say it "rampages through" other units, confusing them with a "6". If already confused the units are destroyed. If units want to make way they have to roll first for confusion and afterwards for being stomped.

But:

- What does "rampage through" means in game terms? They move through other units confusing them with a "6"?
- In the elephant rule making way seems optional. What happens if a unit refuses to make way? In fact making way seems worse, as you have to roll twice and there are higher chances of being destroyed.

These two thougths are not very sensible, as in the game only skirmirshers can move through other units and the idea of not making way when some amok elephants run towards you is strange.

In fact I was playing that making way was mandatory when elephants rampage through other units.

Any help/thoughts?

Thanks!

Offline Dark Omen

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 85
    • Loc: UK - Midlands
Re: Elephant rules question
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2015, 12:11:14 PM »
Rules on pp 124 for Elephants state that any unit contacted by an Elephant stand that is moving as a result of a blunder, a drive back from shooting or a retreat from combat is rampaged through by the elephant, including units they are alrady touching when they start to move.
Units rampaged through must test for confusuion on a 6, or if already confused will be destroyed if a 6 is rolled.

Example #1   Sh=shooter, El = Elephant, Inf=Infantry

Sh Sh Sh


 El El El

InfInfInf

The shooters inflict hits on the elephants and roll far enough for drive back to drive the Elephants into the Infantry behind and out the other side. The Infantry count as having been "rampaged through" at the point the Elephants touch them during the drive back move, so the Infantry must roll for confusion when the Elephants touch them.

Sh Sh Sh



 El El El
InfInfInf
 

If the Infantry are friendly, they can choose to make way, rolling again for confusion. Then the Elephants roll for confusion.
If the infantry are not friendly or refuse to make way, the Elephants will halt as per the confusion rules, and the Elephants become confused.


 

Offline Dark Omen

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 85
    • Loc: UK - Midlands
Re: Elephant rules question
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2015, 12:38:13 PM »
Example #2  Ca = Enemy Cavalry   El = Elephant, Inf = friendly Infantry

Ca Ca Ca
  El  El  El
Inf Inf

      Ca Ca Ca

Elephants are engaged by enemy Cavalry and lose combat, and must retreat far enough to pass through friendly Infantry behind and touch more enemy Cavalry further back.

Friendly Infantry are rampaged through immediately as they are touching Elephants when retreat occurs.
They roll for confusion.
If the Infantry refuse to make way, the Elephant stands touching them are destroyed.
If the Infantry make way, they roll for confusion again, as do the Elephants.

Any surviving Elephant stands then retreat and may make contact with more enemy Cavalry. If so, the enemy Cavalry test for confusion as they have been rampaged through. Finally any Elephant stands touching the enemy Cavalry they retreated into are destroyed.