November 18, 2019, 11:54:17 PM

Author Topic: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation  (Read 3331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yodhrin

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • Loc: Scotland
Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« on: December 08, 2014, 12:53:45 AM »
I just want to double check something; the Battlefleet Bakka list allows you to take Adeptus Mechanicus Cruisers as part of the list as if you were taking a Battlecruiser from the standard Bakka selection, with the stipulation that you can't take an Archmagos, but can you also take AdMech Cruisers as normal Reserves instead thus allowing the Archmagos?

I'm trying to build an Explorator Fleet but my plans were pretty much ruined by the annoying and pointless restriction in the AdMech list that you can only take either Navy or Marines reserves but not both(it needs to include an Iron Hands Strike Cruiser and a Mercury Battlecruiser[only appropriate ship I can find for the new Helios Firedrake model]).

Offline horizon

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 3868
  • Destiny Infinity Eternity
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 07:49:14 AM »
As long as your opponents agree you could ask if they allow your Strike Cruiser/Mercury reserves for the AdMech fleet.

Offline Dono1979

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • Loc: Canberra
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2014, 09:19:34 AM »
Could you stat the Mercury Battlecruiser as a Strike Cruiser Variant? That way it is a SM ship

Offline Dono1979

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • Loc: Canberra
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2014, 09:23:33 AM »
Or, you could make the Helio Helldrake a Venerable Battle Barge

Offline Yodhrin

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • Loc: Scotland
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2014, 12:29:26 PM »
Horizon; I'm trying to minimise house ruling, the group I'm stuck gaming with at the moment haven't played SGs before and they have that annoying "Official = THE LAW" mindset.

Dono1979; I could aye, but it seems like a bit of a waste of a great model since none of the SM vessels have Nova Cannons.

Offline horizon

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 3868
  • Destiny Infinity Eternity
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2014, 01:23:11 PM »
Horizon; I'm trying to minimise house ruling, the group I'm stuck gaming with at the moment haven't played SGs before and they have that annoying "Official = THE LAW" mindset.

Dono1979; I could aye, but it seems like a bit of a waste of a great model since none of the SM vessels have Nova Cannons.
With or without FAQ 2010? As it was never really official.

But with a death game keeping strict to the official rules can become iffy.

You can make a Mars Class Battlecruiser a neverable battle barge and thus have a Nova Cannon on it. If you make it as a Marine vessel then.

Offline Dono1979

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • Loc: Canberra
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2014, 08:38:12 PM »
(Extract from FAQ 2010)

A battle barge is not a class of vessel, but rather it is the name given to any vessel configured to fulfill the role of battle barge. Because of this, it is theoretically possible for any large capital ship to fulfill this role, although the battle barges specially designed for the Space Marines by the Adeptus Mechanicus are the most common example.

However, some older Chapters, particularly those dating back to the First Founding, maintain much more ancient and revered vessels dating back to a time when the Adeptus Astartes and the Imperial Navy were more closely united than they now are and commonly employed reconfigured Navy vessels as battle barges. Such vessels are completely unique; indeed, some of them were later used as the basis for new Imperial Navy ship classes, and as such are greatly venerated by the Space Marines. Some Chapters rely on truly unique vessels imparted upon them for a specific role or to meet some dire threat. Others simply retain vessels they received millennia ago or gained through other means. The Space Wolves, a traditionally minded Chapter, is more immersed in the customs of its homeworld of Fenris than most Chapters and has access to only the most rudimentary of shipyards, and they are perhaps the best known example of this, relying as they do on an Emperor-class battleship to fulfill the role of battle barge.

Choosing a Battle Barge
In addition to their fleet list, any Space Marine fleet may include a single Venerable battle barge (meaning only one!), which may be any Imperial or Chaos battleship, grand cruiser, battlecruiser or heavy cruiser (painted  propriately of course!). This replaces one of the battle barges allowed in the fleet. The normal cost must be paid for the ship, plus an additional +35 points for the cost of the Space Marine crew. This vessel represents an ancient, revered icon or a vessel granted with special dispensation. It is worth 100% victory points if crippled or 150% victory points if destroyed. A Venerable battle barge benefits from all the Space Marine special rules, but since it is already heavily reconfigured to make it into a battle barge, it may not be given any of the optional refits or upgrades listed in its profile it must be used exactly as is, in its basic form. For example, a Mars battlecruiser
taken as a Venerable battle barge may not be given a salvaged targeting matrix for +15 points and can only earn such a refit in the course of a campaign normally. The only exceptions to this are the special refits that the Space Marines themselves make to their battle barges, as follows.

Launch Bays and Thunderhawks
Any launch bays on a Venerable battle barge have their launch capacity halved (rounding up). For example, an Imperial Mars battlecruiser with two launch bays each side is reduced to one each side, and a Chaos Styx heavy cruiser with three launch bays on each side is reduced to two each side. The launch bays are configured to carry Thunderhawks following the rules detailed beforehand and on p.21 of Armada, and they cannot be used to launch any other form of attack craft. This is a compulsory refit that applies to all Venerable battle barges equipped
with launch bays. A Venerable battle barge not equipped with launch bays cannot take Thunderhawks.

Prow Weapons and Boarding Torpedoes
Any Venerable battle barge equipped with a prow weapon (regardless of what it is) may if desired replace it with strength-6 torpedo tubes (speed: 30cm) for no change in cost. As with all Space Marine vessels, these tubes may also be used to launch boarding torpedoes. These boarding torpedoes are manned by Space Marines and get a +1 to their hit and run attacks when they hit an enemy ship.

Offline Dono1979

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • Loc: Canberra
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2014, 08:44:39 PM »
I plan on using my Firedrake as a Mars or Armageddon (with Nova Cannon upgrade) Venerable Battle Barge

Offline Yodhrin

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • Loc: Scotland
Re: Battlefleet Bakka - quick confirmation
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2014, 06:37:52 AM »
Mars doesn't really work as a Rogue Trader's vessel though, they're hardly likely to be maintaining multiple squadrons of attack fighters and bombers. As for the Armageddon, I can't spot a Nova Cannon upgrade anywhere in the rules for it.

Regardless, I think I've worked it out for now; Admech as fleet basis, Reserve Mercury from Bakka list, and I'll take a Mechanicus Gladius Frigate as part of an escort squadron and just paint it up as my Marines.

Just to clarify something though; if I'm reading the 2010 FAQ right, you can take both Reserves and Allies at the same time, is that right? So, for example, could an Adeptus Mechanicus fleet take Reserves from another Imperial fleet, and then take Allies from a Space Marine fleet(who count as a different "race" and, as they would be Allies, would not be affected by the Admech's rule that they can take Reserves only from either IN or Marines but not both)?