October 23, 2018, 08:35:57 AM

Author Topic: FAQ Rules Answers  (Read 8062 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
FAQ Rules Answers
« on: September 03, 2009, 10:19:44 PM »
Ask your Rules Review Questions.

When you ask your question clarify it with enough information that it can be answered with complete examples if that is what is required to answer a question properly.

We started on a rules review last year and ran out of time when the old SG web site when down. We have the old info but would like to see if we missed anthing.

I will be deleting posting and reposting in one topic so it won't be confusing so DO NOT be scared if your post is not there. If I did not understand it correctly repost the relevant information again and I will delete that thread and redo the question. Again, I will delete the threads but repost them on the thread below for a better read. Some questions that can easily be answwered by the book may not make it and be deleted.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 12:08:13 AM by ANSWER_MOD_DABANK »

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2009, 11:07:04 PM »
Empire in Flames Errrata asked by Avatar Thanks to Cianty
Vehicles of the Empire
pg.30 Wagon Movement table
Q: How is it possible that wagons move up to 10 inch, while horses have a movement of 8 and mules as low as 6?
A: Remember that wagons don't run. So a lightly loaded wagon drawn by two horses is pulled at Movement 10 by the extra effort of the two horses. The Movement of an averagely loaded wagon is 8", which is the same as a normal horse so this represents that horses can easily pull an average wagon at the same speed as a normal horse. The running aspect is represented in Applying the lash which gives +6" as the maximum. So the maximum movement of a (lightly loaded) wagon is 10+6" which is the same as normally running horse.
Correct, as the chart provided on movement does not take into consideration the animal type but how many people are in the wagon.

2) What's the cargo quota? It is never used anywhere (except being referenced once under TRANSPORT on pg.31).
Cargo would have to be mentioned in the scenarios that make use of them, as you normally wouldn't assume that the warband is carrying useless chests and boxes around.
A:Usually one crate or chest equals one warband member in weight. Six models it the most.

pg.31 section Collisions:
Q: It says: "Warriors that are out of action cannot get out of the way of a wagon and are therefore automatically hit."
Obviously rubbish, since warriors 'out of action' are not on the table any more. It's probably supposed to be either 'knocked down or stunned' or 'stunned' only. But which one?
A: Both. Neither 'knocked down' nor 'stunned' models can move out of the way of an approaching wagon.

pg.32 section Losing control of the draft animals:
Q: "The driver can only wrestle back control of the wagon by eliminating the warrior (any injury will suffice)."
What does that mean, especially the sentence in brackets?
A: The paragraph describes how an enemy model may leap on the back of one of the draft horses and thus control the direction of the wagon. Then the driver no longer controls the wagon and the enemy model now has the function of the wagon's driver. In this case, the driver may attack the enemy model in either close combat or shoot at him to stop him from leading the wagon astray. Any injury influcted on the enemy will suffice to gain back control over the wagon, as a knocked down or stunned enemy cannot control the horse.


Q: "If a warrior has successfully mounted a draft animal he may attempt to cut it free from the team on a 4+ ..."
When is this roll attempted?
A: The warrior mounts the horse in the Movement phase and my try to cut it free in the close combat phase.


pg.32 table of profiles:
Q: Horses are listed twice, but with different profiles. The second one is presumably for mules, but an errata note somewhere would be nice.
A: Yes, the second one should read "Mule" instead of "Horse".


pg.32 section Loss of a draft creature:
Q: "If the steed is taken out of action then permanently reduce the speed ... until the driver can cut the animal free on the roll of a 5+." When exactly is this roll taken?
A: As mentioned above, cutting free is done in the close combat phase and it replaces attacking in hand-to-hand combat.


pg.32 Out of Control table:
result 6 Loss of control, subsection 5:
Q: "The wagon's yoke pole snaps and the draft animals gallop off." And then what? Are the animals gone forever (i.e. need to be bought again) or searched for by warband members and brought back to the warband after the fight?

A: The animals bolt as described under 'Bolting Mounts' in the Mounted Warriors article (page 24, Empire in Flames) or the Blazing Saddles article. If you are lucky, they will stop running before leaving the table. If they are still on the table when the game ends, the warband can get them back, otherwise it is assumed that they ran out of sight and cannot be retained.



Experience and Falling from Buildings and etc. Asked by Von Kurst
Q: If an enemy model is up in a building and is wounded but fails its initiative test or is pushed off the building by a spell and goes OOA does the model that caused the wound or used the spell get credit for the OOA?
A: Yes, there is no precedent that it does not. One could argue many things but that is not playing in the spirit of the game. The game was "falling" and Mordheim is "usually" played in a ruined city environment that has high elevated positions built into it and it would only make sense that the model that caused the wound would get the experience. Your gaming group and house rule otherwise.


Death of a Leader Asked by MT
Q: What happens when you have no heroes left after a game?
A: You are screwed. LOL. There is no precedent for keeping the squad going and there are no rules that allow you to move up a henchmen to a hero unless they roll LGT. You are better off starting over. I know I would. ;D

Weapons Asked by Cianty and Long John
Q: Is a Warp Pistol counted as a "black powder" weapon?
A: Per an old FAQ a Warp Pistol is considered a pistol and falls under that category. In what reference would it be needed to be declared a "black powder" weapon? I have an idea what you are meaning but I want to clarify.
Q:Warpstone Pistol - It is relevant for the purpose of Superior Blackpowder?
A: I thought this is where the question was going. If one wanted to use superior "warpstone" I would say yes. It is really no different than wardogs and using Monkeys instead. As long as you use the same stats it all works out.
Q: Can a Warpstone Pistol use the Superior Black Powder rules?
A: Yes, if you gaming group allows Superior Black Powder then just call it Superior Warpstone Powder. It does not change the balance of the game and keep everything same-same.

Q: How does the whole xbow pistol work with shooting first and modifiers and etc?
A: We are working on this. 11/12/2009




Equipment

Q: Does a Buckler take up a hand slot?
A: If you mean can a buckler be used in the same hand as a shield or another weapon then the answer is NO. A buckler was meant to take up a "hand" slot.

Animals  Asked by Cianty
Q: Can dogs and etc climb ladders?
A: No, per the rules. One can endlessly attempt to justify because someone saw it on Youtube. All I can say is Youtube was not around in Mordheim. LOL.
Q: Can a dog climb stairs?
A: Yes, it would be no different than at a "normal" non Circus type home or professional dog training facility. Remember, these dogs are your run of the mill dogs and are not highly trained.
Q: What if I was playing a "Pirate" setting and wanted to use Monkeys instead of dogs?
A: Then I would "house rule" that monkeys could climb accordingly. Remember there is was not enough room to clarify every type of animal and what it can and can not do.

Q: Can Minotaurs, Trolls and Ogres climb? I can see Trolls and Ogres climbing but Minotaurs might have problems due to the hoofs.
A: The general rule will be unless they are classifed as an animal (dire wolf) is now included then you can not. Centigor has been added to this list. Minotaur is already considered an Animal that can gain experience but can not become a leader. If a Troll can climb than a Minotaur can also. Updated 11/12/2009
Q: Can a Centigor climb or walk up a ladder? I know he's mostly horse but he does have arms...
A: I would find it challenging to see a Centigor climb up a wall and going up a ladder would be challenging due to their size and weight. They can not climb and we will work on errata for this. Updated 11/12/2009

Q: Is a dire wolf considered an animal?
A: Yes, it was missed but yes they are considered an animal.

Animals: It came to my attention that I missed one or two creatures that might need defined better. I will be working with others to get "animals" better classified. The problem we are seeing is that come creatures are not classifed as animals as they can gain experience. We are working on this issue. 11/12/2009 I just found this and it can be modified to work on different animal types:Animal: A Minotaur is far more bestial than its Beastmen brethren and although it may gain experience it may never become a Hero.

Spells
Q: Flight Spells and picking up and carrying items.
A: Using a flight skills does not supercede any known rules for carrying items (chests and other types). In other words, can you use a flight spell to pick up a treasure and fly off the board? No.

Q: Can Flight of Zimmerman(and or any other "flight" spell) be used to flee from hand-to-hand?
A: After further review and looking at past decisions you can not leave combat from any Flight Spell.
Leaving combat is not a "regular" option in Mordheim. If you use the optional leave combat rules then this is an option for YOUR gaming group.
Using a spell to leave combat happens in the Magic phase and not in the normal phase it should.
The spell does not say you can do it so you can not do it.
Nowhere does it say spells are special and are immune to the normal rules of the game.


Q:Protection of Sigmar skill (from Sisters of Sigmar) says:
"The Sister has been blessed by the High Matriarch. Any spell which would affect her is nullified on a D6
roll of 4+. Note that if the spell is nullified it will not affect any other models either" thus if you have  Demon Soul mutation (from The Cult of Possessed) "A Daemon lives within the mutant’s soul. This gives
him a 4+ save against the effects of spells or prayers." Does the mutation can nullify the spell or prayer on 4+, like the skill? For me, no, but it's nice to have it in clear :)
A: If I am understanding correctly then the answer is No.

Q: Are Prayers Magic?
A: I will come back on this as I found some new data from other MODs on this matter. 10/24/2009


Q:
Led’z go: The Shaman’s howling invigorates the ladz to fight even harder for Gork and Mork. Any Orc or Goblin within 4" of the Shaman will automatically strike first in hand-to-hand combat regardless of other circumstances. The spell only lasts until the caster is Knocked Down, Stunned or taken Out Of Action. Difficulty: 9

Q: Does Letz Go supercede all other "Strikes First"?
A: No, from the other of Da Orc Mob it should work the same. We can only assume the words didn't reflect it properly.


Skills

Q: Does this mean that this spell will over ride other "Strike First" skills, weapons and etc? (From many people on Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum)
A: Yes, it seem that way as "regardless of other circumstances" sets the tone. I will check with the author of the Orcs and get his view point.

Q: If I have a repeating crossbow and have quick shot can I fire three or more times?
A: No, Quick Shot was NEVER intended to allow any weapon more than two shots. You may though use Quick Shot with a repeating crossbow to take away the -1 penalty.

LOS
Q: Do opposing and or friendly model creat "cover" to other models?
A: Yes, they do.

I found an email from 2004 from the creator of Mordheim on a similiar question.
4) Can you gain partial cover behind one of your own warband models? and would such an arrangement block your line of sight for shooting or magic?(can you tell a model in front of you to "get down" so he does not get shot in the back of the head.)
[Tuomas Pirinen] No. Other models are not scenery. They can block LOS completely however.


Oslander Warband
Q: What Animals are affected by the "Animal Friendship" rule?
Quote: Animal Friendship:
Having grown up amidst the animals of the forest this warrior exudes a
certain charm to all ‘normal’ animals (i.e. warhorses, Warhounds,
etc.). Animals will never attack him and up to two Wardogs (see
Mordheim book, page 54) that the warrior owns do not count against the
maximum number of models in the Warband.
A: Only human type animals are affected. Trolls, Minataurs, Dire Wolves are not affected.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2009, 10:26:05 PM by ANSWER_MOD_DABANK »

Offline M.T.

  • Necrotesters
  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2009, 06:57:08 PM »
Thanks for the answer. But if Heroes aren't dead, only incapitated, (deep wound, old battle wound, smashed leg, arm wound, etc), should I really start from scratch? Perhaps I could declare that the whole warband misses a game, and after that all Heroes are healthy... Of course, no exploration for me :(

Your question is now one in a million type opportunity as I have played for 10 years and have never ever seen, heard of and or experienced this.  Such an event is not even remotely stated in the rulebook due to the degree of difficulty in this happening. I have made my points known and I am not going to create a flow chart of every possibility on such circumstances. House rule if your thoughts differ from what I have stated. ;)

The game is intended to be ran with heroes as in a real life situation I doubt if your henchmen would go do much and if you did how in the world would you earn any MONEY? You wouldn't thus it would be futile. :)
« Last Edit: September 10, 2009, 10:10:43 PM by ANSWER_MOD_DABANK »

Offline Avatar

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2009, 12:30:17 AM »
Update we are discussing the EIF in our secret headquarters and should have something in a week as we are getting all the members and two of people who are credited in the EIF.

Most of the things below are inconsistencies in the rules. These should be clarified, so we have a ruleset, that doesn't contradict itself.

MLRB
p.38 misc. equipment - Horses & Warhorses: "You may mount one of your Heroes on a horse or warhorse in the coming battles." Are 'Blazing Saddles' official? If so, rulebook should be updated to allow two mounts in Mordheim as well, since 'Blazing Saddles' does so.

p.47 calculate warband rating. "The warband rating is simply the number of warriors multiplied by 5, plus their accumulated experience. Large creatures such as Rat Ogres are worth 20 points plus the number of Experience points they have accumulated."
1) Are experience points accrued by henchmen groups multiplied by the number of members in henchmen group? If so, it should be mentioned explicitly. Sorry, already listed.
A: I believe it is or in a FAQ somewhere. Yes, henchmen group A has 5 total experience points and there are 3 models in that group thus they have 15 exp.

2) Do large creatures count to the number of warriors (and thus increase the rating effectively by 25 pts. + exp.)? This is not crystal-clear.
A: I am not sure what you mean but large creatures count towards your warband number and rating.

Annual 2002
Ostlander Warband
- p.43 Priest of Taal: "Priests of Taal may never wear heavy armour."
- p.47 Prayers of Taal: "Prayers of Taal work like Prayers of Sigmar, although the Taal Priest never wears armour."
What is it now? No armour at all or just not heavy armour?

A: No armour at all as  this is the common per Mordheim rules.

Empire in Flames:
Wilderness Rules
p.15 Buldings special rule 'Get Out Me 'Ouse!' "If the player wishes, the warrior may spend a complete turn attempting to quell the inhabitants ..." Is this independent of warband type? May for example a beastmen chieftain attempt that as well?
A: Yes, all warbands can do this. Imagine a beatmen in your house holding a knife to your throat.

New Equipment
p.16 Lock Picks: "...there is no -1 modifier" That's right there is none, whatsoever. The only one mentioned on p.15 concerning breaking doors is a -2 modifier. But which one is right?

Exploration
p.21 Gingerbread House: "Until the curse is removed, members of the warband must re-roll all successful hits in close combat or shooting." Is the curse really that strong? It's like the death to a warband. (Not an inconsistency like most of the other ones, but I had to bring it up.)

Mounted Warriors (or 'Blazing Saddles' publication):
pg.24 subsection Controlling a Mount:
- It says "The Special Riding Skills may be used by warriors who have a riding animal, but only after the skill Ride has been gained;..."
- Some of the Special Riding Skills specifically state "Warriors without Ride may not use this skill." (They are Trick Riding, Evade, Running Dismount, Horse Archer, Mounted Combat Master)
Others do not (They are Cavalry Commander, Combat Riding, Athletic Mount). Can these be taken without 'Ride', breaking the rule quoted first? Or is it an omission in the latter skills, or an unnessecary redundancy in the first skills?

Vehicles of the Empire
pg.30 Wagon Movement table
1) How is it possible that wagons move up to 10 inch, while horses have a movement of 8 and mules as low as 6?
2) What's the cargo quota? It is never used anywhere (except being referenced once under TRANSPORT on pg.31).

pg.31 section Collisions:
It says: "Warriors that are out of action cannot get out of the way of a wagon and are therefore automatically hit."
Obviously rubbish, since warriors 'out of action' are not on the table any more. It's probably supposed to be either 'knocked down or stunned' or 'stunned' only. But which one?

pg.32 section Losing control of the draft animals:
1) "The driver can only wrestle back control of the wagon by eliminating the warrior (any injury will suffice)."
What does that mean, especially the sentence in brackets?
2) "If a warrior has successfully mounted a draft animal he may attempt to cut it free from the team on a 4+ ..."
When is this roll attempted?

pg.32 table of profiles:
Horses are listed twice, but with different profiles. The second one is presumably for mules, but an errata note somewhere would be nice.

pg.32 section Loss of a draft creature:
"If the steed is taken out of action then permanently reduce the speed ... until the driver can cut the animal free on the roll of a 5+." When exactly is this roll taken?

pg.32 Out of Control table:
result 6 Loss of control, subsection 5:
"The wagon's yoke pole snaps and the draft animals gallop off." And then what? Are the animals gone forever (i.e. need to be bought again) or searched for by warband members and brought back to the warband after the fight?

Beastmen Warband
p.74 Beastmen Special Skills: "Mutant: The Beastman may buy one mutation. See Mutants section on special rules." For one, where is this section? And if you have to buy it, what are the costs?
A: Use the possessed Mutations.

Rules Review 2004
The Merchant
1) Since the Merchant has been made official per RR 2004, are all items one might obtain through him made official as well (especially: Magic Carpet, Lamp of the Djinn or Monkey’s Paw)?
A: For now we will have him as official though with that said he needs looked at. The items you mention are not "official" so get with your gaming group to use him as those items make him not as effective if they are unofficial.

2) What happens, when the Bodyguard is taken out of action? Survival roll like henchmen? What happens, when he dies? Replaced in next game or needs to be obtained by skill advancement again?
A: Roll to see if he survives, he dies. You MUST gain the skill again to have him.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2009, 05:56:22 PM by ANSWER_MOD_DABANK »

Offline cianty

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Cianty's Tabletop Wargames Blog
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2009, 08:44:33 AM »
Here's another one for the list:

Q: What happens if both players have the Tactican skill (Annual)?

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2009, 08:29:28 PM »
@Cianty

This actually came up in Death Squads. You would roll off for who would go first with the Tactician skill. Basically, you need to decide if the highest roll goes first or can choose to go 2nd.  We will add to our growing list.

Offline cianty

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Cianty's Tabletop Wargames Blog
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2010, 07:50:34 AM »
What about animals picking up and carrying wyrdstone shards? Yes or no? Can we get a quick decision on 'no'? :)

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2010, 03:23:53 PM »
No, animals can not pick up shards or other items. This may need clarified as I am thinking of dogs, wolves, bears, and etc.

Offline cianty

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Cianty's Tabletop Wargames Blog
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2010, 05:23:09 PM »
No, animals can not pick up shards or other items. This may need clarified as I am thinking of dogs, wolves, bears, and etc.

I agree. We should put this in the FAQ along with the "no climbing ladders".

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2010, 10:41:54 PM »
Yes.

Offline Dahag

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2010, 09:25:46 PM »
hello, here are my questions that I would like to have clearified.

1) MAGIC:

which spells can be cast into closecombat (and which not)? It does explicitly state that a wizard can cast a spell, if HE is in cc himself. But i found nothing about casting a spell into closecombat.

2) WAAAGH! MAGIC:

Can "Zzap!" be cast into CC?

Can "Fire of Gork" be cast into CC?

"Fooled Ya!" grants a 4" movement in certain circumstances. Can the Wizard: A) FLY these 4" (e.g. onto a first floor)? Can he move THROUGH WALLS/OBSTACLES with these 4"?

3) SHOOTING

Can a model shoot right after climbing?


4)Does a Centigor use the Beastmen or Ungor equipmentlist? The rules say "Gor Equipmentlist" which does not exist.

If it is the Ungor List:

Does the "cavalry bonus" of +1 strength while chargeing on mount also apply for a centigor (armed with a spear)?

thanks in advance for your answers!
« Last Edit: June 05, 2010, 06:07:43 PM by Dahag »

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: FAQ Rules Answers
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2010, 05:46:57 PM »
Arrg!

The Ork Magic is the most challenging.

Let me review.

Good questions.