October 16, 2019, 02:27:16 AM

Author Topic: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)  (Read 3280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Claus

  • Warmasterplaytest team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 206
Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« on: August 31, 2009, 12:27:32 PM »
Hi gentlemen.

1)
Where playing my beastmen gang this weekend and it happened the first time my Centigor went frenzy.
As a result some questions arose.

a)
Does a Centigor have to test even if he is engaged in close combat or is testing (for being drunk ->frenzy or stupid) happen each turn (even when already engaged in close combat) ?

b)
Frenzy means....doubling the ground attacks and become immune to psychology and having to charge if he can.
In our case the Centigor had to charge and doubled his ground attacks.
The question is now if the "Trample" attack (due to sheer body sice...) is also doubled ? Meaning to get 2 "Trample attacks.
(My Centigor mutated to a killing maching ... having 3 ground attacks, 1 trample attack and 3 wounds....and after going frenzy having 6 ground attacks, 2 (?) trample attacks and a 2nd weapon )

2)
The Minotaur has been engaged in a close combat 2 henchmen + minotaur auf my gang vers 2 henchmen of other gang....where the 2 henchmen of the other gang were killed.
Minotaur having the rule "Bloogreed" -> If a Minotaur puts all of its´enemies out of action in hand-to-hand combat,
it becomes frenzied on a D6 roll of 4+
.
Does this also count in case of this scenario or does the Minotaur have to fight allone and has to put his enemies allone OoA ??


3)
Beastmen Shaman and Magic spell "Wings of Darkness"

We played scenario 7 "Treashure hung" and my Shaman was the one finding the treashur chest.  Giving the fact he has the spell "Wings of Darnkness" .....is he able to move with the treasure chest the 12" as described in spell.....how would you have handeled it ?

Best regards
Claus

Offline TKitch

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 09:23:20 PM »

1b) Only the attacks in your profile are doubled by frenzy.  Off Hand Weapons and Special attacks are not doubled by the ability.  So 'Trample' is still only 1.

2) He can be fighting alongside allies, but HE has to put them OOA.  Not someone else in the combat.  So if the last enemy is taken out by a henchie, it doesn't count.  If he takes the last of the enemies out, it does, and then bloodgreed! :)

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2009, 10:18:41 PM »
Number 2 is a bit hard to picture but if the Minataur took them OOA then I would say yes. HE MUST put the enemies out of action himself.

Number 3: Yes, I remember this one coming up on the old forum. What are the rules for the chest? If you can only move half movement by walking with it then you could only half at half movement. If nothing is noted then yes.

Offline Claus

  • Warmasterplaytest team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 206
Re: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 08:40:49 AM »
Hi.

Thx for the answers.

As for point 3. There is no indication telling that you can only move half movement by walking.

Here the original text from the scenario about carrying the chest:

"Carryingthe treasure chest will slow the warrior carrying it to half speed. Two or more models may carry
the chest without any penalty."


And here the original text for "Wings of Darkness" spell:

Wings of Darkness Difficulty 7

"The Chaos Mage is lifted from the ground by two shadowy Daemons and carried wherever he
wants to go."


The Chaos Mage may immediately move anywhere within 12", including into base contact with an
enemy, in which case he counts as charging. If he engages a fleeing enemy, in the close combat
phase he will score one automatic hit and then his opponent will flee again (if he survives).

So based on your explaination given already and based on the text description of the spell .... I would allow the Chaos mage to carry the chest 12" if he succesfully casts the spell as he (carrying the chest) gets transported (flying, warping...whatever) by Daemons.

What do you think about my interpretation ? Of course this will be very big advantage for Chaos mage...especially for my Beastmen Shaman (as he got sprint already) but it´s also a risk to send him (most of the time) into the last building not inspected.

The Minotaur and Blood Greed topic is clear for me know as well as the Trample attack.

But what about testing for being Drunk at Centigor. Does Centigor only have to test when not being engaged in combat. Does he only have to test at the beginning of the game (so only once a game) Or does he have to test each turn (no matter of being engaged in combat ?

Best regards
Claus

Cheers
Claus
« Last Edit: September 04, 2009, 10:36:56 AM by Claus »

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2009, 05:17:31 PM »
My take is fly half distance as the treasure chest notes half movement and flying is a type of movement(albiet different) but still movement

Offline spiritusXmachina

  • Warmasterplaytest team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 244
    • Loc: Austria
    • Plain of Battle - Worldwide Warmaster Campaign
Re: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2009, 10:19:19 AM »
ad 3) If we open a discussion I would say no - for two reasons.

a) The spell says "the Chaos Mage" is moved. Chests are not mentioned (and probably a little bit heavier than a spear or wyrdstone).
b) More important. The spell would ruin the sense of the scenario which should be imo that the carrying models have a hard time bringing out the chest. "Wing of Darkness" would be a "Push button for Win".
WARMASTER
Small models
Great Game!

Offline Long_John_Silver

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2009, 02:05:52 PM »
Wings of Darkness cannot move the chest in my gaming group.

We play: 1/2 movement; no running, skills (sprint), or magic to improve it. Only having 2 models moving it can make it go any faster.

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: Beastmen questions (Centigor, Shaman, Minotaur)
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2009, 06:00:22 PM »
I believe Wings needs addressed in the next FAQ.