November 18, 2019, 06:19:57 PM

Author Topic: Using bombers  (Read 2163 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dieithryn

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Using bombers
« on: July 27, 2013, 10:40:33 AM »
Make D6 rolls to hit against the ship's lowest armour value for each attacking bomber squadron. the number of attacks the squadron makes reduces by one for each turret on the ship.

And the example points out that surviving bombers make D6 attacks minus the turret value

So if I have the wording correct:

Two bombers in base contact with the enemy ship.
The enemy turrets destroy one bomber.
The surviving bomber rolls to hit, getting a six (basically covers any ship's armour)
On the attack run roll scores another six.
Enemy ship had two turrets meaning it takes four points of damage.

Do I have that right or has my reading of it gotten confused?

Offline horizon

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 3868
  • Destiny Infinity Eternity
Re: Using bombers
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2013, 11:29:34 AM »
Hi,

Two bombers in base contact with the enemy ship.
The enemy turrets destroy one bomber.
The surviving bomber rolls to hit, getting a six

And then:
Rolled a six, that gives you 6 - 2 (turrets) = 4 attack dice

Now roll for dice. Every dice that is equal or higher the enemy armour (lowest) inflicts 1 point of damage.

Offline Dieithryn

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Using bombers
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2013, 11:33:57 AM »
Ahuh, so that's how it works, thanks very much!

Offline Islacrusez

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 349
    • Loc: Plymouth, United Kingdom
Re: Using bombers
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2013, 01:23:38 PM »
On a similar topic, I wanted to ask if a ship that has used turrets to defend against torpedoes still applies the negative turret modifier to the bomber attacks?
Quite crucial to be able to tell minefields and rally points apart...

Offline AndrewChristlieb

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1651
Re: Using bombers
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2013, 03:21:07 PM »
It does apply the modifier even tho it doesnt roll to hit against them.
I don't make the rules, I just think them up and write them down.

Offline Lord Duggie The Mad

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: Using bombers
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2013, 11:19:00 AM »
As the other chaps said, but if I may make an assumption about a following question you may have, if you have to defend against torpedoes and bombers perhaps consider this:

If attacked by torpedoes and bombers with no fighter escorts, you would probably be better off shooting at the bombers with cruisers, torpedoes with battleships.

If you are attacked by torpedoes and bombers with fighters in tow, probably better off blasting away at the torpedoes.

Assuming you have no defensive fighters on combat air patrol.

Cheers,  LDTM
"Orders, sir?"
"Blast 'em to bits!  Do I have to think of everything?!"