November 13, 2019, 07:32:55 PM

Poll

How should the Gifts of the Omnissiah look in BFG:R? (2 votes each voter)

We should keep the rules for gifts how they are in 2010 Compendium.
0 (0%)
We should adopt the gift pool method as shown in the first post and not allow further gift choosing options.
2 (100%)
We should adopt the gift pool method as shown in the first post and work on further gift choosing options.
0 (0%)
We should construct a gift buying system like the old BFG:R (link posted on first post)
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 2

Voting closed: March 06, 2013, 09:31:57 PM

Author Topic: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts  (Read 2384 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline afterimagedan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1899
    • Loc: Chicago IL, USA
BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« on: March 01, 2013, 09:31:57 PM »
Gift pool rules: "Each capital ship in your fleet grants you 1d6 to roll on the gifts table. A capital ship that rolls a 6 for leadership selects a single gift from the gifts table instead of rolling for a gift. These gifts form a pool from which the player must assign one gift to every eligible capital ship in your fleet."

Old BFG:R with gift buying system

Offline afterimagedan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1899
    • Loc: Chicago IL, USA
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 09:40:57 PM »
Great, there is no way to prevent double voting.

Offline Bessemer

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 340
    • Loc: UK
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2013, 09:42:01 PM »
Delete and re-post?
I refuse to be killed by something I've never heard of.

Offline afterimagedan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1899
    • Loc: Chicago IL, USA
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2013, 09:44:33 PM »
I can't delete this so a mod will have to.

Offline AndrewChristlieb

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1651
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2013, 02:13:37 AM »
How will these rules interact with the fleet commander? Faq2010 version has the commander picking one gift for his ship and then rolling for the second, if the result is the same then you can pick both gifts.

We could very easily just exclude the fleet commanders ship from the pool but that doesn't feel right. Maybe we can allow the fleet commander to pick one gift for his ship and select one result from the pool or re-roll one result from the pool, second roll stands and must be assigned to his ship.

 *revert back to faq2010 if the re-roll is the same as the first gift selected for the ship.
I don't make the rules, I just think them up and write them down.

Offline Vaaish

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 986
    • Digital Equinox
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2013, 02:47:08 AM »
It is the commanders ship and the gift attached to him needs to stay with the ship. The gift pool only applies to the general selection of gifts, leaders or ship with their own rules for gifts would be exempt from the pool.

Commander gets to pick one gift as part of his rules. This gift does not go into the pool since its selection rules tie it to the commander.
The ship the commander is on is still subject to the normal rules for selecting gifts and rolls on the table. This gift does go into the pool.

Since you can't have two of the same gift and the commanders gift can't be assigned to another ship, that takes priority. You select a gift from the pool different from the commanders and continue assigning gifts until all are assigned
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 02:58:06 AM by Vaaish »
-Vaaish

Offline AndrewChristlieb

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1651
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2013, 04:32:54 AM »
Oh I agreed that the commanders choosen gift should not go into the pool. The problem is that you have the chance to choose both gifts with the FAQ2010 rules and with the BFG-R version were working on that would go away.

Now I know that it shouldnt be a very common occurance for both to be the same result but it seems like just about everytime I play with them I roll the same result :P. It does seem odd that if were trying to remove some of the randomness of our random selection process were taking away the chance to choose a gift. Given the state that the rules are in now tho I dont really see this as a big issue I was just wondering if this was something we should be concerned with.
I don't make the rules, I just think them up and write them down.

Offline afterimagedan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1899
    • Loc: Chicago IL, USA
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2013, 04:47:36 AM »
Pick for commander first. Roll their gift for the pool separately. If its the same, pick the second gift for the commander. If not, the result is part of the pool results.  Then roll the rest of the pool.

Offline AndrewChristlieb

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1651
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2013, 04:50:54 AM »
that sounds reasonable.
I don't make the rules, I just think them up and write them down.

Offline Vaaish

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 986
    • Digital Equinox
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2013, 04:57:32 AM »
I see what you are saying, and I think that getting to choose where the gifts go out weigh the loss of the second fixed selection.
-Vaaish

Offline AndrewChristlieb

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1651
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2013, 05:23:08 AM »
that also sounds reasonable :P
I don't make the rules, I just think them up and write them down.

Offline afterimagedan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1899
    • Loc: Chicago IL, USA
Re: BFG:R Vote 44: Adeptus Mechanicus Gifts
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2013, 05:39:38 AM »
I actually think that is a nice thing to include.