August 26, 2019, 09:04:30 AM

Author Topic: Differences about WM and WMA  (Read 4000 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jchaos79

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 2530
    • Loc: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
    • Fortunes of war
Differences about WM and WMA
« on: September 01, 2012, 07:31:35 AM »
For people jumping form WM to WMA there are some slight but important core rules differences that involves slight rules and have a significative impact in the way of playing.

Some of them are hidden in quick reading of the rules for players used to play fantasy. I state this because it happens to me so many times.

Here I share the differences that I remember by heart. If you know more please tell us here. This list is from core rules, not about armylists and the special features of the units, so skirmish, warband, slow, shock... and other specials are not in the focus of this summary.

- Line of sight for the archers: they need the front side of the stand open and his line of sight is only 45.

- Charge: irregular formation only charge to 10cm.

- Advance: resolves as a charge, but do not have +1 combat bonus.

- Command: Only three orders issued per unit.

- Command: -1 if the unit is expose to enemies in the flank or rear.

- Combat: Only two rounds of combat per turn.

- Combat: First totalize the supporting stands and then put away the casualities.

- Combat: A unit must attack to the front stand enemy. If not possible attack to the sides or rear. If not possible then you can attack corner to corner.

- WMMedieval shooting: For missile draw backs -1 cm per supporting stand

- WMMedieval brigades: you can choose between skirmisher rules or counter charge rule

- Charges: It is allow the supporting charges (also in initiative).

- Charges: normal cavalry (base in long frontal) can envelope an enemy if they charge them by side, and if the player wish.

- Blunder: Subordinates (not leaders) have +1 in the roll dice when consulting the blunder chart.

- Combat: there is no reform(pivot) phase after all combats finish
« Last Edit: September 07, 2013, 12:46:57 PM by jchaos79 »

Offline Spectrar Ghost

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Re: Differences about WM and WMA
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 05:40:25 PM »
- Line of sight for the archers: they need the front side of the stand open and his line of sight is only 45
To be clear, it's 45deg to either side - the same as the front arc for charging.
Quote
- Charges: normal cavalry (base in long frontal) can envelope an enemy if they charge them by side, and if the player wish.
Again, a clarification - this rule applies to any unit that touches only the side of the charged unit, where some stands would not make contact at all in a battleline.

Good list, there are some I'd missed in there - time for a reread...

Offline jchaos79

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 2530
    • Loc: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
    • Fortunes of war
Re: Differences about WM and WMA
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2012, 10:52:59 AM »
Breakpoint: when a unit is reduced to 1 stand it count like 1/2 for the breakpoint. So having two units reduced to 1 stand is like having 1 unit eliminated in terms of breakpoint.