March 21, 2019, 10:21:51 PM

Author Topic: Light of Battle Question  (Read 2655 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pugwash

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
    • Warmaster Downunder
Light of Battle Question
« on: July 26, 2009, 12:54:52 PM »
Seeking the collective wisdom here.

We played tonight and had a question regarding Light of Battle - the High Elf Spell.  Do units who are initially within 30cm of the caster, retain the bonus to attacks if they move beyond 30cm during the combat phase of the turn?
Warmaster Downunder (http://warmasterdownunder.blogspot.com/)- My Armies, Painting and Battle Reports.  Find a Warmaster opponent in Australia and New Zealand

Offline Bel

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 213
    • Loc: Somewhere in Siberia
    • PolarFox
Re: Light of Battle Question
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2009, 01:14:34 PM »
Seeking the collective wisdom here.

We played tonight and had a question regarding Light of Battle - the High Elf Spell.  Do units who are initially within 30cm of the caster, retain the bonus to attacks if they move beyond 30cm during the combat phase of the turn?

IIRC yes. They do retain bonus of additional attack regardless of whether they move out of initial circle or the wizard leaves this circle himself.

Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1444
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Light of Battle Question
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2009, 02:51:19 PM »
I dont play HE often, but I guess we actualy consider this an Area of Effect spell that WONT work outside the original area it is cast on. So troops pursuing out loose bonus ....

Offline Bel

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 213
    • Loc: Somewhere in Siberia
    • PolarFox
Re: Light of Battle Question
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2009, 04:17:41 PM »
looking through FAQ:

Quote
Q: The two spells with lasting radius effects, Anger of the Gods and Light of Battle, can be interpreted two ways either the affected units are determined at the time the spells are cast, or units can become newly affected and unaffected as they move in or out of the radius (such as when the wizard moves). Which is correct?

A: Both of these spells affect units that are sufficiently close to the caster. The bonus applies if the wizard is within range when the appropriate action or dice roll is taken. So, it is perfectly possibly for a unit to move out of range, and subsequently lose the bonus, or into range, and therefore gain it.

For example, a High Elf unit that is within 30cm of a wizard who has cast Light of Battle has +1A B the bonus applies for the duration of the Combat phase and applies to all units within 30cm of the wizard when combat is worked out. [WarMag 5]


Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1444
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Light of Battle Question
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2009, 10:35:28 PM »
actualy the answer and the example contradict each other .........    ::)  not unusual in a GW publication.....

Offline Pugwash

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
    • Warmaster Downunder
Re: Light of Battle Question
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2009, 01:29:09 AM »
Thanks all, I checked the errata before posting but didn't see the Q&A section until after I posted here :-[
Warmaster Downunder (http://warmasterdownunder.blogspot.com/)- My Armies, Painting and Battle Reports.  Find a Warmaster opponent in Australia and New Zealand

Offline Bel

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 213
    • Loc: Somewhere in Siberia
    • PolarFox
Re: Light of Battle Question
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2009, 05:45:31 AM »
Let me explain - I find this clarification legal (it was printed in Warmag) but imperfect. Just imagine the area of attack bonus on the battlefield, floating from one side of the table to another due Wizards's leaving and joining the units (such situation was discussed a nearly month ago).