May 21, 2019, 02:36:51 PM

Author Topic: charge and pursuit  (Read 12796 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bel

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 213
    • Loc: Somewhere in Siberia
    • PolarFox
Re: charge and pursuit
« Reply #45 on: July 18, 2009, 03:01:30 PM »
I prefer classic charging rules - where both possible charges may be made to the flank (except the 1st charger will block the way for the 2nd)

Offline jchaos79

  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 2530
    • Loc: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
    • Fortunes of war
Re: charge and pursuit
« Reply #46 on: July 19, 2009, 09:37:25 AM »
Bel, what you say is the same as Guthwine (I think), so... Classic rules?

I prefer classic charging rules - where both possible charges may be made to the flank (except the 1st charger will block the way for the 2nd)

The corner to corner charge is wrong, but either the eagles or elf spear 1 can flank them even if they are not in the 45 because the chaos warriors front is fully covered.

Offline Bel

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 213
    • Loc: Somewhere in Siberia
    • PolarFox
Re: charge and pursuit
« Reply #47 on: July 19, 2009, 04:30:04 PM »
Quote
Elf spear 1 and eagles (figure 1) just eliminate a marauder unit and they are allow to advance. That is a new charge. Both of them can see the chaos warriors and both of them can not flank them because they are over the 45 lateral sector.


This means you play with so called alternative charging rules (a version by Rick Priestley that he suggested for easy way to get in WRM - with flank zones etc) and Guthwine's answer is absolutely correct.

And I'm mistaken a bit having mixed the front and the rear of Eagles unit.

By the initial (and LRB) rules and judging the photo the unit of Elf spear 1 may legally charge to the flank of chaos warriors regardless of sectors where Elf Spears 1 unit really is - this depends of the shortest line between units and the frontage's balance of the charging unit... You may re-read the p.35 of LRB, 3d paragraph... The Eagles in this case are unable to charge - they must charge the front of chaos warriors that is inaccessible.