October 22, 2019, 05:47:06 AM

Author Topic: Carying things while using spells that move you  (Read 2199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gunslinger

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Carying things while using spells that move you
« on: June 07, 2009, 02:57:58 PM »
So, heres the scenario:

I have a beastman shaman with the spell wings of darkness, alowing him to be moved 12" in the shooting fase (face? Faze?). Now, I assume that he can carry his personal equipment such as weapons, but how about game items. I'm thinking about wyrdstone in the wyrd stone hunt scenario, gunpowder barrels in the gunpowder plot scenario and most especialy a treassure chest in the treassure hunt scenario (or what ever it's called).

The three things (wyrdstone, powder keg and chest) are all different when it comes to what rules aply when a model picks either item upp so it feels like three different cases. How would each case work with spells such as wings of darkness? Can the shaman carry any of the items with him for the whole 12", does he have to drop the item when using the spell or does the item affect how far he can move with the spell?
"- Maturity is knowing you were an idiot in the past.
 - If that's true, then wisdom is knowing that you'll be an idiot in the future.
 - And common sense is knowing that you should try not to be an idiot NOW."
                 - Questionable content

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: Carying things while using spells that move you
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2009, 06:45:45 PM »
Excellent question.

A spell would over ride most movement issues as some scenarios say you can carry a chest at 1/2 movement or only can walk.

Flight is a bit different and there is nothing to say it would affect it.

There is one area a gaming group can decide what is best as it really depends on what you are trying to carry.

Offline Carrington

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 212
Re: Carying things while using spells that move you
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2009, 11:11:36 PM »
So, heres the scenario:
fase (face? Faze?).


Phase, I'd assume.

Offline Gunslinger

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Carying things while using spells that move you
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 04:22:34 PM »
Excellent question.

A spell would over ride most movement issues as some scenarios say you can carry a chest at 1/2 movement or only can walk.

Flight is a bit different and there is nothing to say it would affect it.

There is one area a gaming group can decide what is best as it really depends on what you are trying to carry.


But would you say that: yes, you can carry things like a chest with you when using magic to transport yourself? Or do you mean that is what each group should decide?

So, heres the scenario:
fase (face? Faze?).


Phase, I'd assume.

Ah, yes. Thank you.

"- Maturity is knowing you were an idiot in the past.
 - If that's true, then wisdom is knowing that you'll be an idiot in the future.
 - And common sense is knowing that you should try not to be an idiot NOW."
                 - Questionable content

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: Carying things while using spells that move you
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 10:06:01 PM »
The model should be able to carry the chest. Because he is not walking and is using magic.