November 17, 2019, 07:07:25 AM

Author Topic: Any news?  (Read 19720 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zhukov

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 258
Re: Any news?
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2011, 04:03:23 AM »

If it's in a box, then I've shipped it. I mail letters, even through UPS or FedEx.

-Zhukov
I am Zukov's Klaw.

"Oh mah gawd its like a giant veil was just lifted off my face and the beautiful maiden before my eyes just turned into a hideous Ork with a giant, bloody choppa."

Offline Eudaimon

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Any news?
« Reply #16 on: April 03, 2011, 10:03:34 PM »
I'm a bit worried about the faqs and all the other rules...

Offline lastspartacus

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1279
Re: Any news?
« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2011, 11:46:24 PM »
I'm out of the loop, GK have a barge now?  I hate what they have done to the fluff.

Offline Vaaish

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 986
    • Digital Equinox
Re: Any news?
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2011, 07:39:38 PM »
it's a fairly rare item that will appear in every GK fleet list :)
-Vaaish

Offline Zelnik

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 771
Re: Any news?
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2011, 08:23:33 PM »
Just like the 0-1 Emperor in the bakka list
only the Grey knights barge can replace it's prow launch capacity for bombardment cannons or increasing it's torpedo strength to 12.

Offline Vaaish

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 986
    • Digital Equinox
Re: Any news?
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2011, 10:12:32 PM »
Quote
Just like the 0-1 Emperor in the bakka list

Ah, but there is a rather heavy price to pay for that since you have to take the 200 point admiral rath.

The GK BB can't replace the prow LB either since it only gains the GK special rules listed on the page. Everything else is listed as SC specific upgrades making them off limits for the BB.
-Vaaish

Offline Zelnik

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 771
Re: Any news?
« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2011, 12:56:44 AM »
It says in the listing quite clearly

A fleet led by an Ordo Malleus Inquisitor including at least 1000 points of Inquisition vessels and Grey Knights strike cruisers may include a single Grey Knights battlebarge. This ship follows the standard profile for battle barges in all respects. Additionally they benefit from all Grey Knights special rules listed here and on p.51.



Offline Vaaish

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 986
    • Digital Equinox
Re: Any news?
« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2011, 06:06:50 AM »
yes, and upgrades are NOT special rules.
-Vaaish

Offline Zelnik

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 771
Re: Any news?
« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2011, 04:38:35 PM »
Thanks for the clarification. I am spreading the 2010 faq on /tg/ and at my local battle bunker.

Offline Snakeb1te

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Any news?
« Reply #24 on: April 27, 2011, 01:28:34 AM »
I'm out of the loop, GK have a barge now?  I hate what they have done to the fluff.

Why is it bad they have a battle barge? Are you referring to the new codex or to the fluff in the PDFs?

Offline Zelnik

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 771
Re: Any news?
« Reply #25 on: April 27, 2011, 02:20:07 AM »
some people think they are too spread out and mobile for a barge.

The answer: make a more mobile barge  ;D

Offline Admiral_d_Artagnan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1037
Re: Any news?
« Reply #26 on: April 27, 2011, 02:55:51 AM »
Not just too spread out. Mainly that there are so few of them and all of them are spread out.

Offline Snakeb1te

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Any news?
« Reply #27 on: April 27, 2011, 03:15:21 AM »
Ah. Possibly.

But I for one am of the opinion that it is perfectly possible that they might OCCASIONALLY use something that size, even if it has only been once or twice since their inception.

Let it stand I say, though I wouldn't personally have put it there in the first place.

But now that its there, meh! I can see it being possible, though I would never use it in a game as that would be like fielding Calgar against a platoon of cadians, but some people like that kind of overkill :P
« Last Edit: April 27, 2011, 03:18:20 AM by Snakeb1te »

Offline Zelnik

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 771
Re: Any news?
« Reply #28 on: April 27, 2011, 04:55:48 PM »
It will stand, mostly because its a good idea to allow players who are geeked out about grey knights,  but since I was the big pusher for the barge back when we were working on it, let me explain my mentality.

1. There is a new grey knights codex, not giving them something big and glittery would be extremely short sighted and a quick way to turn people away from the fleet.

2. Grey knights are the ones sent in to eradicate other space marine chapters who have been determined to be excommunicate. These chapters usually have fortress monistary's, two battle barges, planetside bases and fleets of strike cruisers and escorts.  Not giving them something that can stand up to battleship level fire is just contrary to their purpose.

3. They are still a space marine chapter, and the only one fielded on Titan. The idea that they would not have a barge with Mars so close by baffles me. When you have the best equipment and tech priests at your fingertips, you never, ever say "no no, we want something smaller."

4. When dealing with large demonic threats, like demon worlds or demonship fleets, strike cruisers and escorts alone would be easily outmatched. Without access to battleship level defense or attack, they would not be able to do their job.

5. Its a damn pretty ship! I just wish we had the psy-cannon on the prow.

Offline Snakeb1te

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Any news?
« Reply #29 on: April 27, 2011, 06:07:39 PM »
I dont argue that its bad for the game.

But for fluff I just think that for any of those purposes I would see them working alongside the navy or other space marine fleets. And Grey Knights only really go in and take out rebelling SMs if their threat is demonic, otherwise its left to someone else.

I just see the Barge as something of a huge carrier. Sure it has guns or whatever, but it'd only be used if a HUGE portion of the Grey Knights chapter were deployed together, which is extremely rare.

If you had not put the 0-1 limit then I'd be against it, as it is I can accept it. I agree what you say about Mars, but in my eyes, the issue has more to do with a Barge being used if over half the chapter were travelling in it.