November 18, 2019, 05:35:32 PM

Author Topic: Nova Cannons and Squadrons  (Read 1916 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hymirl

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Nova Cannons and Squadrons
« on: October 15, 2010, 02:16:39 PM »
Quick question about what happens if you fire a nova cannon at a squadron.

Say you have two swords and firestorm in a squadron, the firestorm is at the back and gets hit with a nova cannon template dead on for say 5 points of damage. What happens now?

- Firestorm gets to suck up 5 points of damage, effectively the template allowing it to be sniped out of the squadron.
- Squadron rules say nearest ship gets hit, a sword sucks up 5 points of damage.
- Something else?

Offline horizon

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 3868
  • Destiny Infinity Eternity
Re: Nova Cannons and Squadrons
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2010, 02:21:53 PM »
All and everything under template is hit. If other escorts are not under template they are not hit.

Offline flybywire-E2C

  • BFG HA
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Re: Nova Cannons and Squadrons
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2010, 02:33:05 PM »
Quick question about what happens if you fire a nova cannon at a squadron.

Say you have two swords and firestorm in a squadron, the firestorm is at the back and gets hit with a nova cannon template dead on for say 5 points of damage. What happens now?

- Firestorm gets to suck up 5 points of damage, effectively the template allowing it to be sniped out of the squadron.
- Squadron rules say nearest ship gets hit, a sword sucks up 5 points of damage.
- Something else?

The best way to understand this is a Nova Cannon is like an artillery barrage in space. If you get a dead-on hit on a Firestorm and roll a 5, the Firestorm just took four damage hits (plus one for its shield). It's dead x4 unless it was braced, in which case it would have to roll FOUR brace dice, with any one failure killing it.

Now if any other escorts were close enough nearby that the NC template covers their base as as well (but not the center hole), then each which's base is touched by the NC template takes one automatic hit, absorbed by shields so each one gets a blast marker in contact. This all happens at the same time so if any are in base contact, its not like one gets a BM, causing the other to lose its shields so now the second gets an automatic damage hit, etc. Escorts not touched by the NC template take no damage at all, regardless of how many hits were rolled against the squadron.

The shooting player can place the template anywhere desired before rolling for scatter so if the NC template is placed directly between two ships' bases and a dead-on is rolled for five hits, BOTH ships take the full amount of damage. Nova Cannon can be quite deadly to ships that are clustered too close together.

- Nate
Check out the BFG repository page for all the documents we have in work:
http://tinyurl.com/23nul8q
:) Smile, game on and enjoy!           - Nate

Offline Hymirl

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Nova Cannons and Squadrons
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2010, 02:46:54 PM »
All and everything under template is hit. If other escorts are not under template they are not hit.

Fair enough then, I wasn't sure if they over-ruled the closest takes damage rule for squadons.

flybywire, thanks for the explanation but I'm fairly happy with the rest of the rules for nova cannon. :)

But I have one more question on squadrons; if the above example squadron takes 5 hits from a gun battery but where braced how you do you assign the damage?

Closest gets a hit on the shield, then a hit on the hull which he gets to save against. Say he passes and gets to live. You've got three more hits 'in hand'...

Do you move on to the next escort, put a hit on it's shield and then on it's hull for another brace save? Or you do keep making brace saves on the nearest one that has already lost it's shields and not move on until it dies?

Offline horizon

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 3868
  • Destiny Infinity Eternity
Re: Nova Cannons and Squadrons
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2010, 02:49:17 PM »
First vessel keeps rolling untill destroyed with your BFI example. Hits 'left' after destruction go to shield of next vessel etc..