September 22, 2018, 12:49:41 PM

Author Topic: Strike on a 7+?  (Read 2731 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Wizard Ekko

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Strike on a 7+?
« on: September 05, 2010, 07:29:37 PM »

Hi,

First of all, please excuse me for my poor english, the vocabulary, specially the technical one, is hard to use properly and I don't know much about it. In addition, I'm not sure that I am posting in the good section, if I made a mistake, please correct me and accept my apologies. Anyway, let's try  :)

When using a repeating crossbow and even with a BS of 4, the cumulated malus of: long range, cover, multiple fire and movement give you a "7+" to strike, but what rule should we apply, given that no 7 can be rolled on a regular dice  ;D?
1) The Warhammer and Necromunda rule: on a 7+, you must roll a 6 and then 4+ on an additionnal roll to strike
2) The "a 6 is always good" rule: you always hit on a 6.
3) The "after 6+, no one will ever save you": you cannot fire if a 7 must be rolled.

No need to precise I tried to find an answer by myself, but Google gave me nothing  :(

Best regards,

Ekko

Offline phil-o-mat

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: Strike on a 7+?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2010, 08:31:42 PM »
number one.
if i remember it right.

phil
« Last Edit: September 06, 2010, 08:53:22 AM by phil-o-mat »

Offline someone2040

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Strike on a 7+?
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 07:42:07 AM »
7+ sounds right... but I can't actually find it. I just looked through the rules and the FAQ's as well and nothing! Maybe it's in the Annual... or hidden away somewhere... or maybe it is just a figment of the imagination caused by Warhammer.

Offline Wizard Ekko

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Strike on a 7+?
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2010, 02:07:21 PM »
7+ sounds right... but I can't actually find it. I just looked through the rules and the FAQ's as well and nothing! Maybe it's in the Annual... or hidden away somewhere... or maybe it is just a figment of the imagination caused by Warhammer.
I've made my way through the rules and various FAQs I could find, including the Mordheimer one, but found no answer.
The 7+ rule sounds correct, I agree, but it comes from Warhammer and was probably created to avoid massive units of goblin that have, no matter the circonstances, a 17% luck to hit, which would clearly be overpowered. In Mordheim, things are slightly different, because a large number of warriors do not have access to shooting weapons, lowering the risk cited just above.

The question remains open, I think, but thank you for your answers  :) still looking forward to an official response to that one  :P

Ekko

Offline Darkson

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • Just say "NO" to post counts!
    • ARBBL
Re: Strike on a 7+?
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2010, 05:31:30 PM »
We always used to play #1, until we had a new player wo asked to see the rule, when we found we couldn't find it (we blame Necromunda!).
After that we played #3.
Also note, we couldn't find any rule that said a roll of a 1 is an automatic miss, to BS6 with no mnodifiers always hits (or did we miss that one as well?).
Galak 3:16 says "There is a point in time that a player really should read the rulebook."
Home of the ARBBL
Those that can't, ref!
Talk Fantasy Football admin - ask if you have any problems.

Offline RationalLemming

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 65
    • Our House Rules - Mordheim
Re: Strike on a 7+?
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2010, 11:13:41 AM »
@Ekko... I had no problem with your English in either of your posts.  :)

Option #3 is correct. If the rulebook doesn't say #1 or #2 (and I have never read either of these anywhere in the rulebook or FAQs or errata) then #3 applies. This means that it is possible for a shot to be impossible if the modifiers stack up against the shooter.

@Darkson... yeah I think that the rule that makes a 1 an automatic miss is technically a house rule but a lot of people do use that house rule (myself included) as auto hitting doesn't feel right.

Offline Wizard Ekko

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Strike on a 7+?
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2010, 01:01:20 PM »
Hi,

Glad to know my english is not so terrible  ;)

Okay so everyone seems to agree that the third solution is the good one, I'll test it like that and let you know if I find unfair situations applying it. I can already point out that this rule is clearly hard to handle with a fluffy Dark Elves band, since, even with BS 4, a 7 is likely to happen, but I'll try it anyway  :)

Thanks for your kind answers and see you in the streets of Mordheim  ;D