Necromunda > [Necro] Rules Questions

Couple interesting questions

(1/7) > >>

Nazroth:
Hi to all. We play a lot of Necromunda in Poland, but as we played for years, and infected more players with this game the questions started to appear. More players = more possibilities of disagree, more points of view... so i decided to take those questions to you. Please hake a look:

Skavvies:

--- Quote ---Followers set deployed at the same time as their Boss, and are considered part of setting him up rather than setting up separate fighters. This means that they will turn up to battle or not depending on whether the Boss is fighting. This also means that they do not count towards any scenario limits on gang numbers present.
--- End quote ---

Question number one: Does that mean, infiltration special rule allows skavvie player to set up his leader and followers using the infiltration special rules? The same question is about using vents, or tunnels (don't ask me how, just assuming skavvies can use them).


--- Quote ---Followers are completely ignored for the purposes of Bottle tests, are never counted as closest model when determining the ability to escape pinning, and do not count for achieving any scenario special victory conditions whether good (capturing or destroying objects) or bad (losing territory in Gang Fight).
--- End quote ---

Question number two: Does it means that for example Zombies can set up with their leader as the defender in rescue scenario and move freely, not like the rest of sentries? In my opinion they still have to follow the rules for sentry becouse they don't even know someone's comming so they just stare into darkness and moan, but not all rules problems have rationally answers:)

Armoury:

--- Quote ---All of the heavy weapons described below are weighty, cumbersome affairs which take quite a bit of physical strength and energy to carry and use. Spare parts, ammunition and a basic tool kit all add
to the weight a heavy must bear. Because of this, any fighter carrying a heavy weapon may not move
and shoot during the same turn. If you choose to move you may not shoot, although you can go onto
overwatch and shoot in the enemy’s turn if you wish. As this rule applies to all heavy weapons it is not
included in the special rules for individual weapons.
--- End quote ---

Question number three: Grenade Lanucher is a special weapon, not a heavy weapon. In comparison to his use as a stationary, almost-like-heavy weapon does this rule applies to Grenade Launcher?

Overwatch:

--- Quote ---...During the
enemy’s turn the model may shoot at any target as it
presents itself at any time. For example, the model
could shoot before the target moves, after it has
completed its move, or actually while the target is
moving. Overwatch is obviously very useful for
shooting at enemy models as they dash from cover to
cover or as they peek out of hiding to shoot.
--- End quote ---

Question number four/five: Can we go into overwatch if the model actually got enemy models in line of sight? Rules doesnt mention we cant, but If so, does that mean that we can fire at any moment, at any model our opponent want to move? Event if it's not the closest target?

For now those are my questions, but soon there should be more.

Regards.




M.T.:
As an Answer Moderator, I'll reply to those questions:

1. Infiltrate:

--- Quote ---A model with this skill is always placed on the
battlefield after the opposing gang and can be placed
anywhere on the table as long as it is out of sight of
the opposing gang.
--- End quote ---

"A model" means "One model", so only one model can deploy in such a manner. The followers are deployed at the same time as their Boss, but it doesn't mean they can be deployed next to him, as they don't have - and won't get - this skill.
You can, however, put up to 3 of them in tunnels or vents, since the only condition is to have such territory.

2. They are deployed at the same time as the Boss, but per the rules of the scenario they must act as sentries.
Per their own rules they do not count to the limit of D6 sentries.

3. First and foremost, the grenade laucher is not a heavy wepon, so no.
And this rule is very poorly written, so I wouldn't count on it being valid.

4. FAQ:

--- Quote ---Q: What shooting skills can I use when I am on Overwatch?
A: Since Overwatch is a special shooting rule and the wording of the shooting skills on page 91 of the ORB
only Marksman and Crackshot can be used when you are on Overwatch because the others state ‘shooting’
phase. Keep in mind though that you still must target the closest threat and use all other shooting rules.
--- End quote ---
Also:
You can go into Overwatch in any situation (unless you're broken, down or pinned), but you must declare it on the start of the turn.

Nazroth:
Thank You for reply. Here is another question:

Question five: Panicked

--- Quote ---Run to Cover
...The fighter makes a dash of up to 2D6"
away from his enemy and towards cover. Roll the dice
and determine how far the model runs.
If he can reach a position of cover within this distance
where he cannot be seen then he stops there.
If he is unable to reach cover where he cannot be
seen the fighter runs the full distance rolled. In
subsequent movement phases he continues to move
2D6" away from the enemy until he reaches such a
position. If he can get out of sight by staying where
he is and hiding then he will do so (see the
Movement section).
--- End quote ---

If a panicked model is positioned on the first floor and the only way to get out of sight is jumping down - is he forced to jump? Who decides? Rules, or the owner?



Nazroth:
Question six:
Grenades / Evade skill:

--- Quote ---4 Evade
The model ducks and weaves as he moves making
him very hard to hit. Any enemy shooting from short
range suffers a -2 to hit penalty, while any enemy
shooting at long range suffers a -1 penalty. This
penalty only applies if the fighter is in the open and
not if he is behind cover.
--- End quote ---
Becouse Grenades do not have short, nor long range statistic does evade skill grants cover, when 'shooting' (throwing) a grenade? If so which one it'll be?

Question seven:

--- Quote ---4 Leap
The model may leap D6 inches during the movement
phase in addition to his normal movement. He may
move and leap, run and leap or charge and leap, but
he can only leap once during the turn.
...
--- End quote ---
Can model fire weapons after leaping?


Dimreapa:

--- Quote from: Nazroth on July 10, 2010, 10:30:42 PM ---Question five: Panicked

--- Quote ---Run to Cover
...The fighter makes a dash of up to 2D6"
away from his enemy and towards cover. Roll the dice
and determine how far the model runs.
If he can reach a position of cover within this distance
where he cannot be seen then he stops there.
If he is unable to reach cover where he cannot be
seen the fighter runs the full distance rolled. In
subsequent movement phases he continues to move
2D6" away from the enemy until he reaches such a
position. If he can get out of sight by staying where
he is and hiding then he will do so (see the
Movement section).
--- End quote ---

If a panicked model is positioned on the first floor and the only way to get out of sight is jumping down - is he forced to jump? Who decides? Rules, or the owner?
--- End quote ---

Couldn't find this in the FAQ, so this is by no means certain, but I'd say the rules dictate that you must move directly away from the cause of panic and you keep fleeing until you can safely get out of sight.  I'd say its rare you'd be forced to jump down but if you had no cover to run to without getting closer to the source of your panic, you'd have no choice really.


--- Quote from: Nazroth on July 11, 2010, 01:16:19 PM ---Question six:
Grenades / Evade skill:

--- Quote ---4 Evade
The model ducks and weaves as he moves making
him very hard to hit. Any enemy shooting from short
range suffers a -2 to hit penalty, while any enemy
shooting at long range suffers a -1 penalty. This
penalty only applies if the fighter is in the open and
not if he is behind cover.
--- End quote ---
Becouse Grenades do not have short, nor long range statistic does evade skill grants cover, when 'shooting' (throwing) a grenade? If so which one it'll be?
--- End quote ---

Again, another one I couldn't find in the FAQ, but I'd say that either the evade skill doesn't apply at all or it'd be short range at most.  Personally I favour the first option, as the Grenade doesn't have a short or long range, it seems fairly self-evident.  Plus evading wouldn't count for much against a grenade, because technically it isn't hitting the character trying to duck and weave, but to land in his proximity of the fighter, so weaving in and out doesn't really come into it.

It does say in the ORB that a grenade is treat like any other shooting attack, but without the FAQ to answer it the evade modifiers just wouldn't apply as they can't in the case of thrown grenades.


--- Quote from: Nazroth on July 11, 2010, 01:16:19 PM ---Question seven:

--- Quote ---4 Leap
The model may leap D6 inches during the movement
phase in addition to his normal movement. He may
move and leap, run and leap or charge and leap, but
he can only leap once during the turn.
...
--- End quote ---
Can model fire weapons after leaping?
--- End quote ---

Again, another one not covered by the FAQ, but it says leap is in addition to normal movement, and there is certainly no indication that it affects the turn in any other way than described.  I'd say you could shoot, but I'm not completely sure.  The Jumping rules in the advanced section on page 27 are similar and allow you to charge and such.  I'd say unless another aspect intervenes (such as falling damage), you should be able to shoot after jumping, so long as you didn't run or charge.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version