October 18, 2019, 01:32:16 PM

Author Topic: Silver Arrows of Arha - do they cause critical hits ?  (Read 2399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Claus

  • Warmasterplaytest team
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 206
Silver Arrows of Arha - do they cause critical hits ?
« on: May 31, 2010, 01:47:24 PM »
Hi

My Warlock got  the spell "Silver Arrows of Arha"

The question is if they can cause critical hits.

I know the FAQ that spells causing direct damag can not cause critical hits...but this is not the case here.
The spell is casting W6+2 Arrows that the Warlock has to use with his own Ballistic Skill to hit and afterwards to wound (the arrows are causing Strength 3 hits)

I heared allready lot of opinions ..... the one telling NO the others telling YES.

So Im as intelligent as before now  ::)

Cheers
Claus

Offline cianty

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Cianty's Tabletop Wargames Blog
Re: Silver Arrows of Arha - do they cause critical hits ?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2010, 05:25:49 PM »
Here is another "no" then. It is still a spell and the "arrows" bit is part of the fluff to give the reader an idea of what is going on. Ther is no reason to assume that the arrows are simply wooden arrows with metal spikes - if they were the wizard might be better off opening an arrow business than risking his life in the city of the damned. With no rules indicating otherwise you have to assume the standard which is that this is a spell and thus causes no critical hits.

Offline ANSWER_MOD_DABANK

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
Re: Silver Arrows of Arha - do they cause critical hits ?
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2010, 06:15:00 PM »
Cianty is correct.

Even though it counts as shooting it is magical and does not cause criticals.