June 24, 2019, 08:22:51 PM

Author Topic: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit  (Read 1421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline flankyou

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Loc: los angeles, USA
Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« on: September 03, 2017, 09:33:55 PM »
I'm just double checking here - if pursuers come in to "incidental contact" with a unit that can shoot, do any shooting stands get to shoot at the pursuers?

Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1444
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2017, 09:39:07 AM »
in cases like this, refer to RAW

- shooters are allowed to S&S as an option when charged
- is incidental contact deemed to be a charge?



 

Offline flankyou

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Loc: los angeles, USA
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2017, 10:22:21 AM »
True - I guess what I'm really asking is did I miss something about shooting pursuers that may have been in a different section or something.

For example, our whole group had been playing that hits carried over from previous rounds counted toward the next combat rounds' resolution - until I read the blurb that says they don't on one of the summary pages. Correct me if I'm wrong, but it only exists there.. I've read the rules back and forth a few times and I'm still learning new things..

Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1444
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2017, 10:32:24 AM »
.. I've read the rules back and forth a few times and I'm still learning new things..

... we all do (even me, after almost 20 years.....)

the layout of rules, semi-rules, exceptions, examples and fluff is NOT the most transparant........

Offline honestmistake

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • Tentacles make everything better!
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2017, 08:57:41 PM »

the layout of rules, semi-rules, exceptions, examples and fluff is NOT the most transparant........
[/quote]

Probably the single most accurate thing ever posted on these boards :D Not actually played with the revolutions updates yet but I am hoping they are a bit clearer.

Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1444
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2017, 09:33:23 PM »
We tried to revamp that layout (around 2005), never got around to finalizing that. Figured we needed 5 or 6 typefaces to denote the different bits

Offline Aldhick

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2017, 07:08:59 AM »
JJ, you are right that this situation is not addressed in the rules in particular. Follow what Lex said. Good point for eventual Q&A, though.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Grimnir

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 75
    • Loc: Czech Republic - Brno
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2017, 12:47:53 PM »
How exactly did you play it with counting the hits carried over from the previous round of combat?
Was it like this?
round 1: score 5 hits (against 3hit unit) - remove 1 stands, 2 wounds remain. 5 to combat resolution.
round 2: score 2 hits (against the same unit) - remove 1 stand, 1 wound remains, 4 to combat resolution.
Doing it like that, wouldn't you count the 2 hits (which got carried over from the first round) twice?
[WM] Bretonnian Earl

Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1444
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2017, 12:54:31 PM »
How exactly did you play it with counting the hits carried over from the previous round of combat?
Was it like this?
round 1: score 5 hits (against 3hit unit) - remove 1 stands, 2 wounds remain. 5 to combat resolution.
round 2: score 2 hits (against the same unit) - remove 1 stand, 1 wound remains, 4 to combat resolution.
Doing it like that, wouldn't you count the 2 hits (which got carried over from the first round) twice?

Wounds-totaled for casualty removal
Wounds-caused for combat resolution

Offline Grimnir

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 75
    • Loc: Czech Republic - Brno
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2017, 01:32:37 PM »
How exactly did you play it with counting the hits carried over from the previous round of combat?
Was it like this?
round 1: score 5 hits (against 3hit unit) - remove 1 stands, 2 wounds remain. 5 to combat resolution.
round 2: score 2 hits (against the same unit) - remove 1 stand, 1 wound remains, 4 to combat resolution.
Doing it like that, wouldn't you count the 2 hits (which got carried over from the first round) twice?

Wounds-totaled for casualty removal
Wounds-caused for combat resolution

I am not sure I understand what you mean. I asked a yes/no question. :) Obviously, what you mentioned are two different things.
[WM] Bretonnian Earl

Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1444
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2017, 03:57:51 PM »
Not a native english speaker, but IMO that deserved a good generic answer..... as this expands eg. in hits carried over from S&S too.....

so,
round 1:
assumption correct! CR = 5 (totaling ALL the hits caused in this round)

round 2:
wounds-totaled = 4 (2-prec + 2 actual) --> lose a stand, carry 1
wounds-caused = 2 --> CR = 2


Offline Grimnir

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 75
    • Loc: Czech Republic - Brno
Re: Shooting at pursuers #pursuit
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2017, 04:12:44 PM »
Not a native english speaker, but IMO that deserved a good generic answer..... as this expands eg. in hits carried over from S&S too.....

so,
round 1:
assumption correct! CR = 5 (totaling ALL the hits caused in this round)

round 2:
wounds-totaled = 4 (2-prec + 2 actual) --> lose a stand, carry 1
wounds-caused = 2 --> CR = 2


Yes, this is how it should be.
I got confused because I was asking how the group around "flankyou" played it differently (which you were not answering.)  :)
[WM] Bretonnian Earl