May 26, 2019, 06:47:25 AM

Author Topic: Some rules clarifications  (Read 2835 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Some rules clarifications
« on: August 25, 2016, 08:37:25 AM »
Just few noob questions.

 If a unit have Initiative of 1, does it mean it need not to roll at all and carries out the order automatically?

 How does the allocation of wounds in combat work, especially when there are different types of units involved?
For example: Orc mob including nobs, boyz and grotz assaults an IG platoon. Some units reach in Close Combat and some need to use their Fire Fight weapons.
 Does it mean, that units in CC can only attack those units they are touching, so I need to roll for each stand separately?
And do I get it right that units using their FF value can hit everyone and therefore can roll all dice in bunch an allocate the wounds as for shooting regardless whether they are in CC or not?

 Thanx
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline mlkr

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • Loc: Sweden
Some rules clarifications
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2016, 10:27:16 AM »
Hi Aldhick,

I have obly olayed epic a few times but believe I know this! (Yay me!) ;)


Yes, you automatically pass the first if no other modifications need to be accounted for. The few times I have played I usually roll anyways just in case ;)

I believe CC need to strike against the specific unit it's touching meaning you have to roll separately.

I think FF-wounds are allocated from front to back of enemy unit regardless of unit being in CC or not...

You will probably get much better (and correct) answers on TACCOM-forums but I think I got this ;)


/Mlkr
//Swedish BB & WM-player.

Offline Dave

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1209
    • Loc: Worcester, MA
    • The Epic Gamer
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2016, 02:11:59 PM »
If a unit have Initiative of 1, does it mean it need not to roll at all and carries out the order automatically?

Assuming you don't have any negative modifiers (Blast markers, retaining, etc).

Quote
How does the allocation of wounds in combat work, especially when there are different types of units involved?
For example: Orc mob including nobs, boyz and grotz assaults an IG platoon. Some units reach in Close Combat and some need to use their Fire Fight weapons.
 Does it mean, that units in CC can only attack those units they are touching, so I need to roll for each stand separately?

You roll your attacks. Things in base to base use their CC (unless they're fighting a skimmer) and things within 15cm and with LoS roll their FF. Your opponent then assigns the hits (CC and FF hits are all pooled together into hits, it doesn't matter where they came from at this point), closest to furthest (so they would assign hits to units in base contact first), and then rolls their saves. If you had any MW hits they would then do the same thing again after all regular hits are saved.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2016, 02:13:36 PM by Dave »

Offline mlkr

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • Loc: Sweden
Some rules clarifications
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2016, 10:18:21 AM »
I almost got it all right ^_^
Wish I could get a local group playing this game.


/Mlkr
//Swedish BB & WM-player.

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2016, 08:32:15 PM »
Thanx for making this clear.
 
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Irisado

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 211
  • Soņando debajo del arco iris
    • Loc: Nottingham, UK
    • 40K Online
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2016, 03:27:47 PM »
I've cleaned this topic up a little, since posts of the type '+1', 'what he said', and 'QFT' are spam.  Let's keep our discussions free from such posts please :).
« Last Edit: August 27, 2016, 03:38:43 PM by Irisado »
Soņando con una playa donde brilla el sol, un arco iris ilumina el cielo, y el mar espejea iridescentemente

Offline Aquahog

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 401
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2016, 09:03:01 PM »
Fair enough. In the case of rules questions I think there is a point to be had by showing consensus of interpretation, especially when one of the posts expresses uncertainty, but I'll make sure to put it more eloquently in the future.

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2017, 09:42:59 AM »
One more question on Indirect fire.
If a formation fires indirectly using sustain fire with +1 to hit bonus, does it count the -1 for firing at the enemy "in cover" or out of LOF at the same time?
If not, why on earth you would ever wanted to fire directly with such weapon?
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline forbes

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 305
    • Loc: North West, UK
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2017, 09:58:55 PM »
So you can move and fire.
But generally you will take the +1 for sustained fire.

Offline Dave

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1209
    • Loc: Worcester, MA
    • The Epic Gamer
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2017, 03:17:08 AM »
Often it's worth shooting basilisks direct at, say, a war engine.

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2017, 07:31:07 AM »
I see.. thanx guys. This is the only rule I have personally problem with in Epic... it's making this type of weapons too good for no effort. Maybe it is because I keep playing with my orcs mostly against IG and I'm always struggling to do anything before my orcs get blown to pieces against an army, that only stands and shoots...

Often it's worth shooting basilisks direct at, say, a war engine.

What is the difference? If there are more war engines in the formation, you still have to place the template so that it cover as much models as possible, don't you. If it is single-unit formation, you put the hole over the model no matter whether it is direct or indirect. Or am I missing something?
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Aquahog

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 401
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2017, 02:06:45 PM »
Air assaulting landas and ground attacking fighta bommaz are the best response to IG arty.

Edit: What list are you running?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2017, 11:51:33 AM by Aquahog »

Offline Dave

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1209
    • Loc: Worcester, MA
    • The Epic Gamer
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2017, 06:10:01 PM »
3 Basilisks can use their BP weapon modes to hit a Baneblade 2 times at 4+ if they center the template over it. However, if they shoot with their AP4+/AT4+ shots, they'll get to hit a Banevlade 3 times at 3+ (assuming they have an unobstructed LoF).

As aquahog said, your air assets are what he need to use to disrupt artillery units. Fightas to shoot them, or landas to assault. If they're fielding two artillery batteries in close proximity to one another you can air assault with Stormboyz, kill one formation and consolidate move the Stormboyz to ZoC the other. The second battery will likely have a BM on it for the lost assault and won't be able to sustain because it's in enemy ZoC.

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: Some rules clarifications
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2017, 02:39:17 PM »
Thanx guys for your advices. I'm still green in Epic, so it helps. Though the game is quite stright-forward, it is very difficult to get orientated in practical function of all those unit and weapon special rules.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs