August 24, 2019, 06:39:11 PM

Author Topic: The Fleet Commander in BFG Campaigns  (Read 1659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Toranagaaa

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Loc: New York City
The Fleet Commander in BFG Campaigns
« on: March 16, 2016, 08:06:19 PM »
I’m starting to get back into the game with a friend, and we’ve decided to begin by engaging in a simple campaign of Imperials vs. Chaos in the Quinrox Sound subsector. I have a few questions about using Fleet Commanders in campaigns as outlined in the original BFG rules.

1. Do you get a fleet commander ‘for free,’ or do you have to pay points for him?

2. When the fleet commander gains renown and promotions, thereby gaining a better LD bonus, and re-rolls, marks of chaos, etc… do you have to pay points for these upgrades as well, or are they free?

3. If they are free – how are they dealt with for victory points purposes?

4. Lastly: does the Fleet Commander have to stay on the same flagship throughout the whole campaign, assuming it is not destroyed?  Or can he switch ships between battles?

I ask because there are some rules contradictions that arise if the commander can’t switch ships. For example the chaos warmaster must always be aboard the most expensive ship in the fleet. If he is assigned to a Despoiler Battleship (as he should be), then what about a raid mission of 750 points or lower – where you can’t fit his flagship, but a warmaster must be included in the fleet for that battle anyway?

Offline Bozeman

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 101
    • Loc: Lansing, MI
    • Four Strands Hobby
Re: The Fleet Commander in BFG Campaigns
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2016, 04:09:55 AM »
1. Because the campaign rules say that "each player's fleet has a commander" I assume you get this commander for free.  There are no rules anywhere that specify this commander's points value.

2. Because the promotion chart also has no points values, I assume that your commander is free, regardless of their level.

3. They cost zero points and so would be ignored for victory points purposes.

4. The rules state that a commander changes their flagship if it is destroyed.  However there is no other mention of how to choose a flagship (other than race specific rules such as Chaos needing to be aboard the most expensive ship).  I'd guess you can't switch unless the ship is destroyed.

The campaign manager should obviously have final say in any rules interpretation.  I'd let Chaos have a pass and not have a Warmaster if the flagship is too expensive to fit in the battle.

This reminds me of the rules I wrote for Tyranids in campaigns.  Check them out here: http://www.forum.specialist-arms.com/index.php?topic=8054.0

Offline Toranagaaa

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Loc: New York City
Re: The Fleet Commander in BFG Campaigns
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2016, 03:29:52 PM »
Thanks for your reply Bozeman.

As the campaign coordinator, I think I'll go along with your interpretations of 1 and 2. As for 3, I think there has to be some incentive bonus for destroying the flagship - so maybe I'll award extra VP's for that - perhaps dependent on the Fleet Commander's rank. As for #4, I like your interpretation too. Much appreciation : )

Offline Bozeman

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 101
    • Loc: Lansing, MI
    • Four Strands Hobby
Re: The Fleet Commander in BFG Campaigns
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2016, 03:48:28 AM »
I'd think that renown would be a more appropriate reward for destroying the enemy Flagship than victory points.

Offline Atlan

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: The Fleet Commander in BFG Campaigns
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2016, 11:30:40 AM »
Hi, I know that these are not the official rules, but we decided to do it this way (and are quite satisfied with it):

- the commander must not be on the biggest ship, (just maks it easier)
- if the commanders ship can't be played in a certain scenario, than play without commander (he can't be present in every battle)
- we may change the flaggship between battles BEFORE! it is known what kind and size the nex battle will be. And only if the present flaggship is on full HPs (so you can change, but not to adapt to each mission and not to avoid having the commander on a damaged ship)