August 22, 2019, 12:14:27 AM

Author Topic: BFG-R IN Prow Ram Q  (Read 1785 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zorcon

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 91
    • Loc: United States
    • Zorcon's Word
BFG-R IN Prow Ram Q
« on: November 17, 2014, 02:27:16 AM »
Not sure if this is in the right section, but in each of the IN segmentum fleet lists, it mentions the following note:

Imperial capital ships with 6+ prow Armour that mount a prow ram may upgrade it for a Power Ram that imparts a +1HP damage in addition to any other hits rolled when ramming for +5 pts.

Maybe I am misreading this rule, but I interpret it as if when upgrading a 6+ prow armor capitol ship to have a prow ram, you may then upgrade that to a power ram for 5 points.

If this is correct, where is the rules for a prow ram?
Bigger is better. If bigger wasn't better, then it wasn't big enough!

Offline Bessemer

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 340
    • Loc: UK
Re: BFG-R IN Prow Ram Q
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2014, 03:26:02 AM »
By "Mounts a prow ram" It means any Capital ship with 6+prow and NOT armed with a nova cannon. In a nutshell, any Capital ship with 6+ front armour and not armed with a NC can take a power ram for +5 pts.

The rules are in the 2010 FAQ in the IN special rules. All it does is cause an extra automatic hit on top any hits scored on  a successful ram (successful meaning you passed the Ld check to ram the target, irrespective of any damage caused)

Hope that helps :)
I refuse to be killed by something I've never heard of.

Offline Zorcon

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 91
    • Loc: United States
    • Zorcon's Word
Re: BFG-R IN Prow Ram Q
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 08:13:40 AM »
OK, I see the rule in the 2010 FAQ. Thanks!

The wording in BFG-R IN still seems odd, implying a prow ram and a power ram are different things.
Bigger is better. If bigger wasn't better, then it wasn't big enough!

Offline AndrewChristlieb

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1651
Re: BFG-R IN Prow Ram Q
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2014, 12:55:39 AM »
Iirc a prow ram and a power ram are different. The power ram gives you the extra automatic hit and the prow ram is just the standard attack. Not that it really matters either way :D.
I don't make the rules, I just think them up and write them down.

Offline Zorcon

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 91
    • Loc: United States
    • Zorcon's Word
Re: BFG-R IN Prow Ram Q
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2014, 07:31:46 AM »
OK, thanks!
Bigger is better. If bigger wasn't better, then it wasn't big enough!