July 20, 2019, 12:13:00 AM

Author Topic: House Weapons / Trading post (Scavvies)  (Read 2983 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mind robber

  • Lurker
  • *
  • Posts: 9
House Weapons / Trading post (Scavvies)
« on: August 13, 2009, 09:27:58 PM »
I have a Scavvie gang but this can apply to all outlander gangs.

After the first game i can trade in one roll on the Trading Post to purchase any common weapon not on the (scavvie) House Weapon list but what category can this be from, would the only items availiable would be from close combat and basic list with special weapons coming availiable in the unlikely event of rolling the 'specialist' techno skill?

As a seperate question; why are the prices given for Rare Weapons such as the needle rifle on the Outlaw Trading Post but they cannot be rolled on the chart?

Offline Dimreapa

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • ...Sooner or later you dance with Dimreapa!
Re: House Weapons / Trading post (Scavvies)
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2009, 01:29:53 AM »
Hello,

As one of this Forum's Necromunda Rules Enforcers, I have referred your questions to my fellow enforcers, and you will be no doubt hearing back from us shortly with an official reply.


Now, taking off my official hat, I will say that the needle rifle is most likely a mistake.  GW have always had a problem with summary sheets and tables, so I'd say it's a typo, but I will take this up with the other Enforcers, and we shall solve all your problems shortly.

On gang weapons, the trade table tends to fall secondary to normal rules about gangs.  For instance, you could buy a basic weapon for a ordinary House Juve, but they couldn't use it until they are a fully fledged ganger, and they are able to choose from other weapon types!
« Last Edit: August 14, 2009, 02:57:50 AM by Dimreapa »

Offline Caelwyn

  • Necrotesters
  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: House Weapons / Trading post (Scavvies)
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2009, 05:23:22 AM »
I have a Scavvie gang but this can apply to all outlander gangs.

After the first game i can trade in one roll on the Trading Post to purchase any common weapon not on the (scavvie) House Weapon list but what category can this be from, would the only items availiable would be from close combat and basic list with special weapons coming availiable in the unlikely event of rolling the 'specialist' techno skill?

All right.

Quote from: Rules Review 2009, pg 14
Q: Can my Scavvie Boss use a special weapon from the trading post, or is he limited to his choices on the Scavvie
Weapons List in the Scavvie Rules?
A: In general, any gang that has a specialized weapons list will be limited to that list of weapons. The confusion
comes with what happens when a fighter gets the Techno Skill: Specialist? Well, then they would get access to
special weapons. Since this is unclear at the moment, what should be done is this: per the 2005 NRC findings the
Scavvies use their weapons list as a HWL, so the only way for a Scavvie gang to use a standard special weapon, say
a flamer, is for someone in the gang to get Specialist. In addition, the Boss does not start with Specialist so would
have to get Specialist to use standard special weapons. When rolling an advance for a Leader of a Scavvie gang if
you select Techno and gain Specialist, then the restriction on only gangers is removed and the boss can get it. This
should hold true for any gang with a specialized weapons list except Ratskins, who cannot get Techno skills.
Remember though, the next NRC will rule on this and then we will see how they want to fix this issue.

The key points to pay attention to here are: "as per the 2005 NRC findings the scavvies use their weapons list as a HWL". They can give up rare trades to buy any common weapons they want. The majority of this ruling is in reference to special weapons which cannot be used (but can be bought) until a ganger or your leader (because he does not start with it) gain specialist. From the trading post they can use basic, pistol and hand to hand weapons and the leader can additionally use shells and grenades. The scaly can only use hand to hand weapons. The reasoning here is that scavvies can have basic, pistol and hand to hand weapons as that they have basic, pistol and hand to hand weapons in their special groupings. The contrast to this would be ratskins where the braves don't get access to basic weapons because they're not in the special groupings available to them.

As a seperate question; why are the prices given for Rare Weapons such as the needle rifle on the Outlaw Trading Post but they cannot be rolled on the chart?

It was the same way in the original outlanders book. I'm assuming the writers just took the original rare trades chart and then added all the outlander stuff. It's also got a reference to bionic hands for which rules don't exist, so... It would make sense in that this has the prices for all the rare trades and you wouldn't need to refer back to the original rules for one set and the outlander rules for another set. Except that they have different variable costs in places. It's being looked at, thanks for bringing it up.