July 18, 2019, 06:35:41 PM

Author Topic: Unnofficial 'Little Questions That Don't Deserve Their Own Thread' Thread  (Read 3421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ravendas

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
Okay, I often times have little questions I want to ask, but don't want to just make an entire thread just for one simple little question. I figure others might be the same, so I figured I could start this.

If you have a little question, post it in here and we can attempt to solve it. If you can help or have an opinion of what to do, post!

As for my questions:

1. Wyrd 'Wall of Fire' power makes an impenetrable wall of fire, which people and bullets cannot go through. But what happens if someone uses Hurl Opponent and tosses someone at the wall of fire? My idea is that the only other thing that compares would be a plasma grenade (also a template, cannot be shot or moved through), so I figure the person would pass through the fire, taking a strength 5 hit, plus whatever damage for being thrown.

2. Can wyrds use a power and shoot a gun on the same turn? Or is it power dependent.

3. Wyrds have to target the closest model, like shooting. But what if the closest model is immune to their psychic power (Scavvy zombies for example)? If my enemy telepath wants to Mind Control someone, and the closest target is a zombie, which is immune, can he not use the power, or can he pick a target further back? If he can't retarget, my zombies would basically be blanks.

4. Can I put a laser sight on a grapple? And if so, will the wall get a chance to dodge?  ;)

I've got some more odd ones that I can't think of atm.

Offline Mastermime

  • Necrotesters
  • Lurker
  • **
  • Posts: 6
1: I would say use a flamer Str 4 -2 save mod, as its a "wall of flame" not a "wall of plasma"

2: No the psychic power is used instead of the shot

3: I would say yes he can, as you must target the closest relevent target. If you can ignore a fighter in cover or a downed fighter then yo can ignore a mindless zombie with mind control powers. You wouldn't waste your bucket of gasoline on an Avatar would you?

4: No the Grapple is not a weapon it is a piece of equipment that can be fired as a weapon. But yes seeing a building do a "bullet time" dodge would be hillarious.
"Lascannon? What, this Officer? Nah, this is just my reading light!"

Offline Ravendas

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
2: No the psychic power is used instead of the shot

Powers used in the shooting phase are easy to say they count as shooting, but what about other powers? Like the minor power Freeze Time, which lets him move faster. If he used that, would he be unable to shoot later in the shooting phase? Or a primary power like the Telekinetic power Displacement, which moves the Wyrd or another friendly model during the movement phase. After using that power, could he shoot later in that turn? It doesn't say explicitly anywhere the relationship between powers and shooting, nor does the faq cover it.

Offline Mastermime

  • Necrotesters
  • Lurker
  • **
  • Posts: 6
Then I would say use you common sense. If it sounds like it should be used in the movement phase then use it in the movement phase. But by and large Wyrd Powers are to be used in the shooting phase istead of shooting.
"Lascannon? What, this Officer? Nah, this is just my reading light!"

Offline Ravendas

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
Here's another silly question, that I actually am confronting at the moment.

I'm playing scavvies, and I have a 2 headed mutant I'm rather fond of. I'd like to augment his 180 degree vision with some infra-red goggles. 1 set, 2 heads. If I modeled it as a pair of infra-red monocles, would anyone be upset with that in a campaign? I could say the scavvies just modified it by chopping it in half, extending the wires, and wearing it as a pair of single lenses for the heads!

Or I could put it on the stalk-eyed mutant, but that wouldn't really model very well, and would be hard to imagine...

Offline Ant

  • Moderator
  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Out of Action
    • Ant's Intaweb abode.
Yup it's one of the reasons I'm not much of a fan of the two heads mutations because it just creates so many rule conflicts. Aside from the specific two heads mutation rules I recommend you just treat him as a regular fighter so one set of goggles would do, otherwise you're opening up a big old can of worms.