August 23, 2017, 11:00:43 AM

Author Topic: some siege rules questions  (Read 1752 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 404
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: some siege rules questions
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2017, 11:23:57 PM »
That makes sense. Thanx.
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Offline Aquahog

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 379
Re: some siege rules questions
« Reply #16 on: June 20, 2017, 03:38:35 PM »
Well, considering that the defenders are going to be quite immobile I don't imagine it would be hard to set up a column charge in any case. :)

Offline cjbennett22

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 512
    • Loc: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Re: some siege rules questions
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2017, 03:00:32 AM »
back to my original question  :)

1 stand up on the wall as can fit in between 2 defenders, 2 stands down below waiting to climb the ladders.  opponents turn, the 2 flanking lines of infantry that didn't cover the wall entirely uses initiative to attack both sides of the men that snuck on.  The 1 stand loses but with no casualties, do they go back down their ladder?  Or do they go left or right, their choice and in doing so, lose the stand on the wall as a retreat would bring it into contact with an enemy stand?

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 404
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: some siege rules questions
« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2017, 10:04:52 AM »
back to my original question  :)

1 stand up on the wall as can fit in between 2 defenders, 2 stands down below waiting to climb the ladders.  opponents turn, the 2 flanking lines of infantry that didn't cover the wall entirely uses initiative to attack both sides of the men that snuck on.  The 1 stand loses but with no casualties, do they go back down their ladder?  Or do they go left or right, their choice and in doing so, lose the stand on the wall as a retreat would bring it into contact with an enemy stand?

The rules only state, that the attacker's unit defeated on ramparts is automatically destroyed as it has nowhere to retreat. In this situation I'd apply it on the stands (same as in normal combat). So the stand already on the ramparts is destroyed and the remaining stands below the wall will retreat from the wall.

What the rules actually don't cover is what would happen whe the two units draw. Where to fall back? Can attacker fall back down the ladders?
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs

Online Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1420
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: some siege rules questions
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2017, 10:15:48 AM »
What the rules actually don't cover is what would happen whe the two units draw. Where to fall back? Can attacker fall back down the ladders?

With an attacker needing to work hard to gain the ramparts I would suggest that a DRAW end combat, but assumes combat is again resolved in the next turn.

Offline Aldhick

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 404
  • The End is nigh
    • Loc: Czech Republic
Re: some siege rules questions
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2017, 08:19:41 PM »
What the rules actually don't cover is what would happen whe the two units draw. Where to fall back? Can attacker fall back down the ladders?

With an attacker needing to work hard to gain the ramparts I would suggest that a DRAW end combat, but assumes combat is again resolved in the next turn.

Agree. This may be a reasonable solution preventing some odd situations to happen
WM - Toomb Kings
My Mordheim guys (and gals)
http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/t2734-aldhick-s-gangs