December 16, 2017, 10:48:46 AM

Author Topic: Ramming plus Brace for Impact in squadrons  (Read 398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bozeman

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
    • Loc: Lansing, MI
    • Four Strands Hobby
Ramming plus Brace for Impact in squadrons
« on: December 06, 2016, 05:05:50 PM »
An Imperial Navy player has foolishly exposed his broadside to a squadron of Ork Brute Ram Ships!

Moo hoo ha ha.

The Ork player figuratively slams the Big Red Button and goes on All Ahead Full (without a leadership test, thanks to Orks!)  Due to the fact that the cruiser is very close, the 2D6 extra movement is more than sufficient for the first Ram Ship to reach the Imperial cruiser.  The Ram Ship rolls a leadership test on 1D6 (passed, even with Ork leadership) and is about to roll damage.

Because the Imperial Navy cruiser is also entitled to roll 1/2 of its starting hits (broadside, 4D6 for a cruiser), the Ram Ship could possibly take damage, and so is entitled to Brace for Impact.  The Ork player, for some reason, decides to do so, and passes (through the grace of Gork...) replacing All Ahead Full with Brace For Impact.

After rolling damage, the rest of the squadron wants to have a go.  However, they are now on Brace of Impact, not All Ahead Full.

Is the rest of the squadron entitled to the extra 2D6 movement?  If so, are they entitled to try to Ram?

(for the purposes of this argument, assume that when the ram was made, the 1st Ram Ship was still within coherency, and was allowed to Brace)

Offline Seahawk

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 424
  • Bombardment!
Re: Ramming plus Brace for Impact in squadrons
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2016, 03:12:26 PM »
2010 FAQ:

In all cases Brace For Impact REPLACES whatever special order the ship or squadron may currently be on.  However, the special order previously in effect remains so, in that ships that reloaded ordnance are still reloaded, a ship or squadron moving All Ahead Full must continue to do so, etc. Ships and squadrons still cannot take special orders in the next turn.