December 16, 2017, 10:50:44 AM

Author Topic: BFG FAQ 2010 Fleet Specific Questions  (Read 81008 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Admiral_d_Artagnan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1037
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2010, 01:40:48 PM »
Can you clarify the Orks Fighta Bomma rules. It really is confusing. If you keep the wording but can you insert an example on how it should be done like in the BBB for bombers?

I remember there was an answer given on turning waves AC or a long line of torps (for those which can turn) which have moved up to their max distance. The answer was something like you pivot from the center or something. Maybe that can be cleaned up and added?

I'll try to remember other questions.




Offline RayB HA

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2010, 04:06:46 PM »
Admiral_d_Artagnan,

An example of Fighta-Bommas will be added, after I try to put forward better rules for them.  ;)

I've put in a description of how to turn torp salvoes, I'll clean this up.

Cheers,

RayB HA

 
+++++++++++

When I joined the Corp we didn't have any fancy smancy tanks! We had sticks! Two sticks and a rock for an entire platoon, and we had to share the rock!

Offline BlueDagger

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #17 on: April 11, 2010, 06:53:43 PM »
Roy, what about asteroids? Leadership and damage allocation within escort squadrons?

What's the question on the Flame of Asuryan?


Asteroids: in the current rulebook the the leadership test for AAF has been removed (3d6 instead of 2d6) and something else.


On the Flame of Asuryan. Read both Doom of the Eldar and Yriels Raiders. There is no option to take the Flame of Asuryan.

A ruling by Bob has been that when a Hero is taken the Flame of Asuryan may be taken. The Flame then belongs to the parent fleet in terms of determing reserves.

But that was in the forum and never put in a document.

Sorry to stir on this one, but could it please be reviewed again rather then using a previous non-FAQ ruling? The Hero rules does not state that the ship automatically becomes one fleet or the other nor does it state that it is required for the FoA to be taken. On top of this the ship is designed identical to that of the Craftworld Eldar and the Yriel's Raiders PDF is clearly written from the viewpoint of a Craftworld Eldar (it even has a picture of the Craftworld Eldar Fleet on the first page).

Officially ruling that the FoA is required to take a hero permanently makes the ship's cost 470pts. Ruling that the ship is CWE means Corsair still have access to it at 470, but CWE would have an additional ship choice of a matching ship in their fleet (3 options currently) without this massive added cost.

Thank you for taking these points into consideration.

On a separate note, could we have a clarification on the "Up to one turn" label on the reload ordinance markers? Our local group couldn't find any reference to this in to the rules and to the contrary the reload ordinance states that it does not hinder maneuverability.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 07:29:08 PM by BlueDagger »

Offline russ_c

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 117
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #18 on: April 11, 2010, 07:02:15 PM »
Russ c,

Thanks for your questions.

There is no mention of fighter suppresion in Armada that that I can find.... it was in the 2002 annual though.

Cheers,

RayB HA

Darn, your right.  Wow, so BMs touching one ship don't affect other ships in base contact if the BM isn't touching them as well!?  This is certainly opposite to how most people over at Port Maw instruct.  It helps escort squads be more survivable when sticking together for mass turrets, but I kind of liked that it was a balancing negative to the positive you get for being in base-to-base.

Thanks for recognizing and addressing my questions.  I'll see if I dig up anymore that felt significant during my time at Port Maw.

Russ
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 07:05:48 PM by russ_c »

Offline Commx

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #19 on: April 11, 2010, 07:56:08 PM »
Well, I guess that this event is finally one significant enough to join this board for. Here are some things that I have been wondering about. Well, it turned out that some became quite a lot of things, and as far as I know, none of them have a real answer so far (although that might also be because nobody really cares about most of these things.) Hopefully you will find something useful within this list.

Boarding Torpedoes
1) Must boarding torpedoes still roll to Hit as normal, or will they immediately make Hit & Run attacks. The text under Boarding Torpedoes mentioned no attack roll, but it seems a lot of people are still in favour of doing so.
2) Are they still removed if they collide with a normal Torpedo Marker? What about another set of Boarding Torpedoes?

Boarding
1) Is the Turret value of the Defender part of its Boarding Value or merely a static 'bonus'? This becomes important when a vessel has a rule which doubles its Boarding Value, begging the question if the Turret value is doubled as well.

Tyranids
1) As mentioned on Port Maw, is the normal value for AAF orders still +4d6?
2) Synaptic Control states that every Hive Ship may attempt to override Instinctive Behaviour separately. Can one Hive Ship attempt to control a Cruiser or Escort Squadron another Hive Ship failed to control, effectively meaning a Tyranid Fleet has a number of re-rolls equal to its amount of Hive Ships minus one each turn?
3) Can Hive Ships attempt to control other Hive Ships? (I suppose there is nothing in the rules preventing them from doing so, but it just seems a bit odd.)
4) Blast Markers when Boarding. Could the FAQ entry be reworded somewhat to match the intent? If the Tyranids gain the +1 bonus whilst the other side gains not, it is the other side that ignores the Blast Marker, not the Tyranids.
5) Do Feeder Tentacles and/or Massive Claws function if an enemy vessel collides with the Tyranid one instead of the other way around?
6) The same for Spore Clouds. Is a Blast Marker placed/point of damage inflicted when an enemy moves over a Tyranid vessel?
7) What are the different sizes used when determining if a ship grabbed or grabbing with Massive Claws can still move? Are they the same as the four categories for boarding or something else?
8) Is the Ordnance Limit for Tyranids doubled or waved entirely? The 2007 FAQ lists both versions which has sparked some serious debates.
9) Is a Hive Ship's Torpedo option supposed to be Strength 6? This is more than double the cost of the Strength 4 Salvo available to the Cruisers.
10) In the Vanguard Fleet, what happens if a squadron fails its Leadership Test? Are the others prohibited from attempting to override Instinctive Behaviour as with normal fleets?
11) The Hive Fleet states that you 'may include between 6 and 12 escort class ships for each hive ship.' Does this mean that not including Escorts is also an option, or is including at least six escorts per Hive Ship mandatory?
12) Could you give a statement saying that the Evolutions of the Hive Mind can or cannot be used outside of campaigns? Without them, most of the fleet is pitifully weak, but with them, you risk having the 14 Hit, 6 Spore Hive Ships as a common sight...
13) Are the two dice from Accelerated Healing added before or after the halving of the dice for having a Blast Marker in contact with a vessel?
14) Mega-Spore Mines state they are not intended for Escorts, but it appears that only Hive Ships will be capable of actually using them. Is this supposed to be the case, or should Cruisers also be capable of acquiring them somehow? (I'm mainly asking this as 'normal' Orbital Mines specifically prohibit their usage on Battleships, so limiting Mega Spore Mines to battleships seems odd.)
15) Does a vessel with Mega-Spore Mines lose the ability to launch normal ordnance in turns it does not use the Mines? The description seems to imply this.
16) In a Cruiser Clash, are the Tyranid Cruisers prohibited from doing anything other than following Instinctive Behaviour as they do not have a Hive Ship to guide them?




Offline fracas

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 882
    • WarMancer
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #20 on: April 11, 2010, 08:42:43 PM »
clarification of reserves rules?
like can DE take Craftworld or Corsairs as reserves?
IN taking chaos ships. etc


also, does admech count as imperial or a separate "race"
and what is admech attack ratings?

Offline horizon

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 3830
  • Destiny Infinity Eternity
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #21 on: April 11, 2010, 08:56:32 PM »
Hi Russ, Ray,

the page Russ is refering to:
http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/forum/index.php?topic=124.0
downloadable in that thread/post.

I think it is edited.

cheers,
keep it up Ray.


----

Questions:
*) Eldar sunward arc.
I know everyone uses the pependicular line technique but could this be taken in the FAQ.


Offline russ_c

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 117
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #22 on: April 11, 2010, 09:31:23 PM »
@ Commx

A number of your questions where answered in a Q&A on Tyranids with the HA in issue #18 of Warp Rift.  But, as Horizon said. It should be collated with all other warp rift HAs and compiled into the new 2010 FAQ.

Oh Ray, can you make the 2010 FAQ include the 2007 FAQ text so there is only one FAQ to source?

Thanks again for taking action on this!

Russ

Offline RayB HA

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #23 on: April 11, 2010, 10:26:54 PM »
Blue Dagger,

The Flame of Asuryan is a character ship, it shouldn’t be unreasonable to have to place a fleet commander on board. Keep in mind the Flame of Asuryan was used in a pirate fleet for some time, it’s not out of place in either list.

However, there should be a GC for CWE using the Flame of Asuryan model. This wouldn’t be a character ship and would be customisable, just like Dragon ships.

Reload doesn’t affect movement in anyway. How can this be misinterpreted?


Russ c,

Yes, blast markers only take down the shields when they are literally in contact with a ships base. Note: when ships are in base contact and are shot at the shooting player gets to place the BM, that’s the negative. So the BM will take down at least 2 shields (unless the shooting player doesn’t wish to do this for some reason).

When this FAQ is finished it will be combined with the 2007 FAQ. Don’t worry there will only ever be one official FAQ!


Commx,

Thanks for your questions.

The Nid blast marker boarding issue was resolved in the 2007 FAQ.

The hive ships torpedo option is as written in armada, however the entire nid list needs to be reworked.

Mega spore mines may only be used by the Hiveships. In earlier versions cruisers and escorts also had the option of launch bays, but this was abandoned in favour of making the Hiveships bio factories. Yeah, the mine launchers replace the launch bays as it says under their description.


Fracas,

I’ve listed the races for reserves. So Eldar, CWE and DE are all separate. In the admech rules it states that they are an IN list.

Cheers,

RayB   
 HA
+++++++++++

When I joined the Corp we didn't have any fancy smancy tanks! We had sticks! Two sticks and a rock for an entire platoon, and we had to share the rock!

Offline BlueDagger

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #24 on: April 11, 2010, 10:41:48 PM »
Blue Dagger,

The Flame of Asuryan is a character ship, it shouldn’t be unreasonable to have to place a fleet commander on board. Keep in mind the Flame of Asuryan was used in a pirate fleet for some time, it’s not out of place in either list.

However, there should be a GC for CWE using the Flame of Asuryan model. This wouldn’t be a character ship and would be customisable, just like Dragon ships.

Reload doesn’t affect movement in anyway. How can this be misinterpreted?

Understandable, if it's an official ruling then I will play as such. Just hate being forced to waste an additional 50pts that could go to better upgrades.

On the reload markers provided it states that you can make "Up to one turn", but there is nothing about that limitation in the rules. Some may interpret this as Eldar players must chose to make one turn in the Movement phase or one turn in the Ordinance phase, since the marker states you may only make up to one turn.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 10:43:54 PM by BlueDagger »

Offline RayB HA

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #25 on: April 11, 2010, 10:44:16 PM »
Hi Roy,

Thanks for the link.

What is this method of finding the correct Eldar speed band? I just put a compass over the ship and then draw the shortest possible line from the stem to the sunward edge.


BlueDagger,

Right, I'll add a note about reload.

Cheers,

RayB HA  
+++++++++++

When I joined the Corp we didn't have any fancy smancy tanks! We had sticks! Two sticks and a rock for an entire platoon, and we had to share the rock!

Offline Admiral_d_Artagnan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1037
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #26 on: April 12, 2010, 02:43:56 AM »
clarification of reserves rules?
like can DE take Craftworld or Corsairs as reserves?
IN taking chaos ships. etc

also, does admech count as imperial or a separate "race"
and what is admech attack ratings?

No, because DE and Eldar are considered a different race for the game purpose, much like IN and SM are a different race.

Ray, not really a rules question but with the Nid rules on taking multiples of the same evolution upgrade on only one slot, I really think the upgrades are too cheap. Cheap enough that you can have a ship with maxed out 6 shields and higher damage points comparing it to a ship of another race. I really think the points should go up a bit.


« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 02:57:48 AM by Admiral_d_Artagnan »

Offline Admiral_d_Artagnan

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1037
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #27 on: April 12, 2010, 03:14:12 AM »
Admiral_d_Artagnan,

An example of Fighta-Bommas will be added, after I try to put forward better rules for them.  ;)

I've put in a description of how to turn torp salvoes, I'll clean this up.

Cheers,

RayB HA

 

Thanks.

The torp turning is simple enough. What about a wave of AC? Say 6-8 markers? What if they have reached the maximum distance they can move, say 20 cm? In  theory, a single marker can pivot, simple enough. But if a wave does it, there is a problem of the outer edge getting a speed boost when it pivots. If it manages to brush a target's base then the wave attacks.

Offline horizon

  • Moderator
  • Veteran member
  • *
  • Posts: 3830
  • Destiny Infinity Eternity
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #28 on: April 12, 2010, 04:08:03 AM »
What is this method of finding the correct Eldar speed band? I just put a compass over the ship and then draw the shortest possible line from the stem to the sunward edge.
 
That is the method. :)
But the rules are more confusing.

Offline Commx

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: BFG FAQ 2010
« Reply #29 on: April 12, 2010, 09:08:44 AM »
The Nid blast marker boarding issue was resolved in the 2007 FAQ.
Actually, that was the text I was referring to. I feel it is rather unintuitive, but that could just be me I suppose.

Now, in response to the other answers:
1) If Escort Drones are now mandatory, could they be allowed - or even required - to be squadroned with the Hive Ship they are supposed to be, well, escorting? That way they could actually play Meatshield as you (the HA, not the individual) claim it was intended. (I realize it is not an actual question, but I feel it warrants asking as mandatory escorts is quite a big thing too.)
2) If Escort Drones become mandatory, the suggested "Hive Ship + Three Cruisers" suggested for Cruiser Clash would actually be an illegal list.

One minor Tau question
1) Tracking Systems specifically mention that BFI does not affect them. Does this mean other Special Orders do?

Necrons
1) Could you give us a definite list of what the Reactive Hull can save against? Even a simple statement it functions exactly as a BFI save would do.
2) In the Fleet List, the Sepulchre states: "A single tombship may be upgraded to carry a Sepulchre. Note that there is no requirement for a Necron fleet to include a Sepulchre and it is actually quite normal for them to consist of Scythes supported by Jackals." What exactly does this mean as you supposedly require a Tombship to put it on to begin with? Or were Scythe's supposed to be able to have it as well?

Blast Markers
1) Do Defences count as ships for the purposes of Blast Marker Removal? I suppose not as this would make it impossible to re-raise their Shields due to their inability to move away. I know the Ramilies specifically states an additional d6 Blast Markers are removed from itself each End Phase, but I cannot find such a rule for 'lesser' Defences.


Thanks for the responses so far!

X